PDA

View Full Version : ip stuff and so on



Phip
Jun 28th, 2002, 08:51 AM
i just setup php and mysql on my comp with phpdev. how do i make the pages viewable to other people not just me.

Flamerule
Jun 28th, 2002, 09:17 PM
You need to set up a web server. A simple and easy to use one is Abyss which you can get at http://www.aprelium.com/

whackaxe
Jun 28th, 2002, 09:21 PM
ther is also a package i think at http://www.firepages.com.au which hands out a good php development package but i would still swear by abyss

Spookster
Jun 28th, 2002, 10:19 PM
Uhh guys phpdev contains Apache. :) To make your webpages viewable to others they simply need your IP address. If you are on a dialup connection that IP will most likely change every time you connect to the Internet. If you are on a cable or dsl connection that IP will probably be static and doesn't change or doesn't change often. You can test it yourself. Just find out your IP address and type it into your web browser. Of course make sure you start your phpdev server first.

ReadMe.txt
Jun 28th, 2002, 10:30 PM
i would suggest u ignore the first two posts as they didn't seem to notice that you already have PHPdev installed.

to re-iterate what spookster said:

to make pages publicaly viewable, you'll need to place them in the public folder inside the www folder.

then click start->run then type winipcfg and press enter

a box will appear telling you your IP address and other stuff, take a note of your IP address.

open a browser and type the following

http://[insert IP address here]/public/[page name]

this will have the same function as typing localhost from your own machine, but will work from anywhere as long as you have apache running

Phip
Jun 29th, 2002, 12:54 AM
yeah, i got all that. but when i go to my IP i can see it. no one else can.

ok....some people can see it some people can't. wtf?

http://130.13.111.234/public/index.php

this link will be here until i stop it.

whackaxe
Jun 29th, 2002, 08:55 AM
sorry all apologies about that irreleence. if you point your browser to www.no-ip.com you will find that you can get a www.username.no-ip.com site which points to your comp. what happens is you get a small client program that sends your current ip to the no-ip server and then accordingly updates your username.no-ip.com adress to that ip. the thing is that if your page will be verrrrrrrrrrrry slow to load if you howt with a 56k modem of even DSL etc

Phip
Jun 29th, 2002, 09:05 AM
No problem whackaxe. i'm on DSL so the IP is static, no? how would only specific people be able to view the page? could a firewall on client side mess it up?

firepages
Jun 29th, 2002, 09:49 AM
If one person (outside of any LAN you may be on) can see the page then all should be able to, are the users getting any errors? page not found/access denied or are timeouts occuring.

Even with DSL if things are slightly busy network congestion will prevent some users getting to you.

whackaxe
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:11 AM
i have DSL (or ADSL as they call it over here, i think ther are diffeences) and i have a dynamic IP but you can check your ip by going onto start>run> and type winipcfg and you get your IP then when you start your comp next time check again and if it is the same then you are static but if not then your dynamic and may want to take a look at the link i posted earlier

Phip
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:16 AM
my ip hasn't changed for over a few days so.. yeah it's static. that link is still hot: http://130.13.111.234/public/index.php so if you can't go there then something is wrong. i'm about to drop it. just makes it nicer being abel to have full mysql and php control. :)

firepages
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:34 AM
I just did a portscan of your IP and found some open ports (including 5000 which is a worry !) but no port 80 which apache is configured for - perhaps your dialup peeps are blocking it ? or your own firewall.

(lol or you just turned apache off :))

open up the apache httpd.conf and change
Port 80
to say
Port 81

then try via http://your_ip:81 and see if that does anything

Phip
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:36 AM
:( i don't have a firewall.

i'm changing the port now...

http://130.13.111.234:81 works.....

but now i can't get anything from http://130.13.111.234/public/

firepages
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:42 AM
yep - I can see you via

http://130.13.111.234:81/public/


I can only assume that your dialup is blocking port 80

Phip
Jun 29th, 2002, 10:46 AM
nice, thanks a lot. :)

is there a way to make it so it doesn't need the display :81/public/ and going straight to http://ipaddr/ would work?

also, how do i make it open index.php or index.html when you go to the directory?