PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get JAVA to read XML file paths

CaptainMench
Jun 12th, 2006, 09:28 PM
Hey --

I'm very new to this, so please type slow. I'm working in a Mac environment and am trying to get data parsed out of XML via a PHP5 script into JSON to be read by a JAVA script.

Yes?

Here's the problem I think I'm running into... The file paths aren't compatible. Something about absolute URI and kind-of-absoluteURI?? Somewhere the problem is with /localhost\

Here's what's happening with my JSON information:

If a file parsed is on my system drive I get:
file:\/\/localhost\/Users\/captmench\/Movies\/TBPLux4.mov

If a file parsed was on a different drive than my system drive I get:
file:\/\/localhost\/Volumes\/NATHAN\/TahoeProject\/Capture%20Scratch\/Birthdays06\/ZacharyMessing

both are cool... tells ME exactly where those files were... but I need it to be able to tell JAVA where those files are. I'm thinking again the problem is in localhost.

Is there a code to drop localhost or replace localhost?

Thoughts? I really appreciate any help here and understand how busy everyone is.

Thanks

CaptM

Oh -- or am I an idiot for thinking that JAVA can't parse and deliver XML data by itself???

Beagle
Jun 12th, 2006, 10:02 PM
JAVA and JavaScript are two entirely different beasts. Don't confuse them. It's not JAVA script, it's JavaScript, or if you like ECMAScript (the standard that it is based on)

Anyway, JavaScript can indeed read XML, it doesn't have to be JSON, it's just that XML has so much overhead. But if you've got it in XML already, you could definitely process it in the JavaScript.

As for your paths, well, if someone not on your computer tries to access localhost, they will access they're own computer, so that wont' work, in PHP try str_replace("localhost", "yourdomain.com", $fileurl);