PDA

View Full Version : flash problem....



JamieR
Nov 14th, 2004, 02:15 PM
I inserted a flash movie into my layout, and uploaded it.
On my Windows 2000 computer, the flash banner will play in Firefox and Internet Explorer, but on my laptop, which runs xp pro service pack 1 (sp2 is evil) it won't play in IE or Firefox........ :mad:

the code i am using is <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="banner.swf" height="150" width="760">
<param name="movie" value="banner.swf" />

When I view it's code in dreamweaver, the active x code is there, but when i view the code in firefox or IE, the space where the code should be is blank, with <div id="imgHeader"> and </div> above and below where the code should be.....

Any ideas?? :confused:

bradyj
Nov 16th, 2004, 07:51 PM
Hmmm, are you absolutely sure that you have flash installed as a plugin for those other browsers on that computer? Can you see other flash websites or no?

JamieR
Nov 16th, 2004, 10:36 PM
yes i can see other flash websites, but the one i can't see is my own...
I also have the plugin installed on both browsers.

24-ba
Nov 27th, 2004, 06:09 PM
What I do, which may not be the smartest thing to do, but it works, is export the swf file and html and whatever other one their is (sorry I haven't used Flash in a while) and the html file will have all the code needed play the flash file you just created. Copy that and put it into your own html file and it should work.

bradyj
Nov 28th, 2004, 01:15 AM
Their junk code shouldn't be an issue -- can you post up the code for me to see?

chilipie
Nov 28th, 2004, 10:44 AM
Just a note - sometimes you need to export the HTML & SWF file from Flash again to see the Flash file properly. I don't know why this happens - I've checked the code through, and I couldn't find anything different between the first time I exported it and the second.

pixelEngine
Dec 13th, 2004, 09:28 PM
can you post your code so we can see it!?

I am assuming that you have the 'EMBED tag within your 'OBJECT' tag correct?!?!?!?!?