PDA

View Full Version : Loading... On Flash?



As5a5sIn5
Apr 10th, 2004, 04:38 AM
Something thats always bugged me..
When you start a webpage with flash it usually says 'loading...' in one nice way or another... HOW DO YOU DO THAT!!!!!
lol

mindlessLemming
Apr 10th, 2004, 04:44 AM
Do a search on "Flash Preloader tutorial".

sidvorak
Apr 13th, 2004, 06:23 PM
one simple way is to create a very minimal looping movie instance. Something that will load quickly. Drop it in the first frame.
Add this script to the first frame.


a=_root.getBytesTotal();
b=_root.getBytesLoaded();
if (b>=a){
gotoAndPlay(2);
}

From there you can get more complex like updating a dynamic text field with the percentage loaded and such...

Cheers,
Simon (http://www.simondvorak.com)