henro tanjung
Dec 2nd, 2014, 10:21 AM
hi all,
i'm new to javascript
so my issue is to set first character in textbox/text area

thanks in advance

Philip M
Dec 2nd, 2014, 12:06 PM
What does that mean? Give us an example of what you want.

henro tanjung
Dec 3rd, 2014, 02:35 AM
thanks for your replay Philip M

example : the text area will input nomber of phone, and the first nomber is to 8 or 9

thanks again

Old Pedant
Dec 3rd, 2014, 03:25 AM
But how will JavaScript know which to pick??? 8 or 9???

Yes, JavaScript could just pick 8 or 9 at random, but surely that is not what you want.

Arbitrator
Dec 3rd, 2014, 06:36 AM
example : the text area will input nomber of phone, and the first nomber is to 8 or 9JavaScript isn't necessary:

<!doctype html>
<html>
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8">
<title>HTML Demo</title>
</head>
<body>
<form> <!-- Add an |action| attribute and other attributes as necessary (such as |method|). -->
<fieldset>
<legend>Phone Number</legend>
<select required> <!-- Add a |name| attribute. -->
<option></option>
<option>8</option>
<option>9</option>
</select>
<input type="tel" pattern="\d+" required> <!-- Add a |name| attribute. -->
</fieldset>
<button>Submit Phone Number</button>
</form>
<!-- Add a Windows Vista (IE9) compatibility script for the |pattern| and |required| attributes here. -->
</body>
</html>

Philip M
Dec 3rd, 2014, 08:40 AM
But how will JavaScript know which to pick??? 8 or 9???

Yes, JavaScript could just pick 8 or 9 at random, but surely that is not what you want.

I think he means that he wants the first character of the entered phone number to be 8 or 9.

<input type = "text" name = "phone" id = "phone" onblur = "checkPhone(this.value)">

<script type = "text/javascript">

function checkPhone(x) {
x = Number(x) || 0;
var reg = /^8|9/;
if (!reg.test(x)) {
alert ("The phone must be a number starting with 8 or 9");
document.getElementById("phone").value = "";
return false;
}
}

</script>