PDA

View Full Version : Help with old Java Script

AussieTuca
Nov 18th, 2014, 01:46 AM
:oHi guys,

Though I have some knowledge in computers I am totally inept when dealing with programming of any kind so, I need your help with this issue.

I have a little script written by Robert Rimes Perry a long, long time ago, probably in another galaxy. Mr. Perry stopped developing the script and the last version he, himself emailed me many years ago. It is called Favorites Home Page and creates a homepage.html file with your favorites, allowing customization in every sense including a background picture. Better than many online bookmarks sites.

I have been using this script for many years but recently it stopped liking Internet Explorer, Chrome or Firefox. Avant Browser and Internet Explorer (from 8 above, I have the V 11) and, after adjusting the browser compatibility in the settings, they accept the page above but when opening the browser the message - "This page requires Internet Explorer 6.0 and above" comes up and after a second retry it is OK.

With Firefox, Chrome or any other browser it does not load at all. I can't figure out why. I am attaching a homepageModified.html file that I created with some of my favorites for your perusal and the Gods willing, some suggestions re the issue and, who knows, some fixing so I could open the page with any browser without being pestered by that error message.

Would someone out there please, please have a look at this? I will be eternally grateful for your help.

Cheers!

AussieTuca
Nov 18th, 2014, 01:49 AM
Hi again,
I forgot to say that if someone need the original program (Favorites Homepage) please let me know and I will be glad to send it. It is a freeware program.

Clock Out
Nov 22nd, 2014, 02:48 PM
Hope this helps.

AussieTuca
Nov 27th, 2014, 04:27 AM
Hope this helps.

Hi Clock Out,

Thanks and sorry for the delay in replying. I was away...