PDA

View Full Version : Custom tags! Can it be true?

Bill Byrd
04-19-2014, 03:38 PM
(Preliminary forum-search performed)

As a rookie I'm bound to discover amazing things that you guys have been using for years. I use a lot of surgical text coloring for clarity. A typical line of HTML might look like this for me.

Declare a <span class="G">variable</span> <span class="R">dog</span> with a <span class="B">value</span> of <span class="O">animal</span>.

I was just wondering how nice it would be if I could use something like <G></G> rather than <span class="G"></span> to color a word green. So I Goggled it and found that "tag, charcter, hyphen, character, tag" could be used. I tried it in Chrome, FF, IE. I was shocked that it actually worked. Is there some catch, something I'm missing? This seems too good!

With custom tags: Declare a <x-G>variable</x-G> <x-R>dog</x-R> with a <x-B>value</x-B> of <x-O>animal</x-O>.

x-G{
color:green;
}

xelawho
04-19-2014, 05:42 PM
A nice little discussion of custom elements here:
Custom Elements: defining new elements in HTML - HTML5 Rocks (http://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/webcomponents/customelements)

Bill Byrd
04-19-2014, 07:14 PM
A nice little discussion of custom elements here:
Custom Elements: defining new elements in HTML - HTML5 Rocks (http://www.html5rocks.com/en/tutorials/webcomponents/customelements)

Thank you. Purely by chance-- that's where I got my info.

VIPStephan
04-19-2014, 07:29 PM
That’s actually new to me. But it makes me wonder why it’s still called “HTML” at all then because that’s everything except what HTML was originally created for. And it makes me wonder why so much energy is wasted to establish such a “workaround” when there is XML which does exactly the same and is exactly made for such applications? All in all, it makes me question the development things took with HTML 5 even more.

Bill Byrd
04-19-2014, 07:50 PM