PDA

View Full Version : Validation and reg expressions

weeblexx123
Jan 4th, 2014, 02:26 PM
I am new to JS and am getting myself a little bogged down in getelementbyid and regular expressions to validate the input from forms. I have got my head around regexp's I now need to validate the input So how and in what order would I validate say 5 inputs from a form, Does any of the above make sense ?? :)

Philip M
Jan 4th, 2014, 02:57 PM
Form validation has beeen covered a zillion times in this forum. Try the serach feature of the forum.

Use document.getElementById("id").value. Note that Javascript is case-sensitive. getelementbyid will not do.

You say that have got your head around regexes. Really?

You may validate each field as soon as it has been entered, or validate all five fields in one function before the form submits. I myself prefer the former.

Be aware that form validation of the pattern if (document.formname.formfield.value == "") - that is blank - is barely worthy of the name, and virtually useless, as even a single space, an X or a ? will return false, that is pass the validation. A proper name may only contain letters, hyphen, space and apostrophe.
Numeric values, such as zip codes, phone numbers and dates, should be validated as such. Ditto email addresses. This topic has been covered many times before in this forum.

To give you the feel, here is the validation for an email address which I would probably use:-

<form id = "myform">

Email address <input type = "text" name = "email" id = "email" size = "45" onblur = "testEmail(this)">
<span id = "message" style="display:none; color:red;"> The email address is invalid - please retype it</span>

</form>

<script type = "text/javascript">
function testEmail(which) {
document.getElementById("message").style.display="none"; // hide the error message
if (!(/^([a-z0-9])([\w\.\-\+])+([a-z0-9])\@((\w)([\w\-]?)+\.)+([a-z]{2,6})$/i.test(which.value))) { // probably the best email validation regex