PDA

View Full Version : moving multiple frames and layers in Flash 5



gcapp
12-22-2003, 03:03 AM
I hope some can help. I am using Flash 5 and I need to move a whole bunch of frames in my movie.

More specifically, I have a movie that has 14 layers and each layer has 600 frames. I have to insert a new layer, but I need to move all frames, in all layers starting from Frame 200 - 600 about 100 frames to the right.

Problem is that the only way I can figure out how to move them is to click on each frame, in each layer, but that will take forever.

So I wondering if there is a way to select many frames from one point outward to the end - in this case select 14 layers of frames from starting point at Frame 200 out to the end at Frame 600 and then be able to move all of them to the right about 100 frames?

If anyone can help, I would appreciate it.

Membie
12-22-2003, 08:49 PM
Select frame 199 in all layers bij holding shift down:
select frame 199 in layer 14 (your top layer), go to frame 1 (your bottom layer, hold shift down and selcet frame 199. Frame 199 is now selected in all your layers. Press F5 100 times and your done. ;)

An other way is dragging all 100 frames to the right. You have to select all the frame you want to drag in a simular way as discribed
in MX that is, sorry. In flash5 you select the number off frames you want to insert in all layers, frame 99 to 199, leave the selection as it its, right click in anykind off layer in frame 199 and choose insert frame. The number off frames you have selected or now inserted in all layers.
Sorry for the misunderstanding at the beginning. I normally work with MX instead off 5.

ikilledsanta
05-20-2007, 08:47 PM
I have this exact same problem, I don't know how to move multiple frames at once. I'm using Flash MX Professional 2004.

Any ideas? Thanks.

danny100
05-20-2008, 09:42 AM
Hi there

I'm on a Flash learning curve at the moment (I'm a designer trying to learn to code), but I found a good explanation of what you need on another site - mainly because I was looking for exactly the same thing just earlier. Moving Flash frames (http://www.designtalkboard.com/tips/web/flash-move.php).

Basically the trick is to ensure that you select all the frames and then onion them all. I spend days banging my head against the desk until I found the way to do this - I thought I was selecting everything, but all I did was make a big mess. But it is easier now than it was in Flash 5, at least. I just wish it was even easier. Sometimes I find Flash very unintuitive.

Anyway, I hope that helps.

gnomeontherun
05-21-2008, 07:58 PM
Flash MX and above is all I've ever used. With them select one frame in the timeline and then hold shift. Then click on the last frame you want to select and it will select them all at once between the two clicked frames. Then you can move them freely.

Flash is now on version 9, so upgrading from version 5 is a good idea.