PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Complete newbie needs help with random generator

rosscothep
Mar 3rd, 2013, 07:17 AM
Hi all. I have no skill in JavaScript but some basic knowledge of HTML. What I want to create is 3 random word generators that each work separately and pull words from a pre set list. The idea is to have a starter, main and desert. I have seen this http://www.mcfedries.com/javascript/randomwords.asp which is perfect but have had several attempts to follow the guide to insert it into HTML. Have copied source code but honestly i don't have a clue.

Ideally each generator would be on a separate line with the titles as above them I would just input the words and could change them over time. I can see this being used at our college for many different educational uses. If anyone could help I would gladly cite them when we put the tool live

Please please help! Your my only hope! :thumbsup:
Thanks
Rods

Philip M
Mar 3rd, 2013, 11:53 AM
Use this, change the values in the array to the words required, repeat twice to get three different menus.

<script type = "text/javascript">

//return the member at a random index of the array
var myarray=["red","blue", "yellow", "orange","green"];
var col = (myarray[Math.floor(Math.random()*myarray.length)]);
alert (col);

</script>

alerts are obsolete and are used only for testing purposes. You should use .innerHTML to display the three courses on seqential lines.

rosscothep
Mar 3rd, 2013, 12:00 PM
Cool. This sounds a bit simpler to implement. Thanks for taking time to read and reply. After reading the post guidelines i was worried that no-one would bother. My main issue is how to put this into a page. I have a blog and want to insert it into a page on the blog. It requires pasting HTML code. So i need to put this script into the code. I am so unfamiliar with anything other than some basic HTML formatting.

Thanks
Ross

Philip M
Mar 3rd, 2013, 12:12 PM
Try this (naturally you can change/add to the menu items):-

<html>