PDA

View Full Version : Milonic Menu Help



ptmuldoon
Aug 4th, 2012, 03:17 AM
I'm experimenting with the Milonic Menu (http://www.milonic.com/) and its corresponding Bolt-On modules (http://www.milonic.com/menumodules.php), specifically the mm_menueditapi addon.

This add on lets you manipulate your menu in various ways without touching your default menu data.

But there is very little documentation, and ironically Milonic has closed its forums to public registration due to spammers (I did contact them trying to get registered).

I am trying to understand how to get the "mm_changeMenuStyle" feature to work in this script, but can not get it to work yet.

Is anyone familiar enough with the Milonic Menu to give a hand?

I've tried with the following thus far, but no luck


<SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="mm_menueditapi.js" type="text/javascript"></SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT language=JavaScript>
mm_changeMenuStyle('Main Menu',NewStyle);

with(NewStyle=new mm_style()) {
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth="1";
bordercolor="#000000";
onbgcolor="#000000";
offbgcolor="#000000";
padding="2";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=100);Shadow(color='#777777', Direction=135, Strength=5)";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
}
</SCRIPT>

Old Pedant
Aug 4th, 2012, 04:23 AM
Well, they may have also closed the forums because that's pretty ancient code?

The use of upper case <SCRIPT> tags and language= is kind of a dead giveaway.

Yeah...the list of supported browers there is also a dead giveaway:


Microsoft Internet Explorer for Windows (all versions)
Mozilla for Windows 0.6 to 1.6+
Firefox for Windows (all versions)
Netscape Navigator for Windows 4.03 to 4.8
Netscape Navigator for Windows 6.0 to 7.0+
Opera for Windows 5.0 to 7.0+

Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0+ for Apple Mac
Firefox for Apple Macs (all versions)
Mozilla 0.7+ for Apple Mac
Safari 1.0+ for Apple Mac
Netscape Navigator 4.x+ for Apple Mac
Netscape Navigator 6.0+ for Apple Mac

Firefox for Unix/Linux (all versions)
Mozilla 0.7+ for Unix/Linux
Netscape Navigator 4+ on Unix/Linux
Netscape 6+ on Unix/Linux
Konquerer 2.2+ on Unix/Linux

Support is currently in development for the menu on WebTV and Pocket PC's

Nobody in their right marketing mind would list "Netscape Navigator 4..." and not list Chrome.

And "WebTV"? And "Pocket PC"? Ummm...haven't those products been dead for maybe 6 or 8 years now?

I think I'd go find a more modern (and free and supported) script. There are *TONS* of them out there.

Old Pedant
Aug 4th, 2012, 04:26 AM
I do see something in YOUR code that must surely be wrong:


mm_changeMenuStyle('Main Menu',NewStyle);

with(NewStyle=new mm_style()) {
borderstyle="solid";
borderwidth="1";
bordercolor="#000000";
onbgcolor="#000000";
offbgcolor="#000000";
padding="2";
overfilter="Fade(duration=0.2);Alpha(opacity=100);Shadow(color='#777777', Direction=135, Strength=5)";
outfilter="randomdissolve(duration=0.3)";
}

You are USING the variable NewStyle (in the call to mm_changeMenuStyle) *before* you have defined it!

Surely the call to mm_changeMenuStyle should be AFTER the definition of NewStyle??

Old Pedant
Aug 4th, 2012, 05:24 AM
Ugh...I actually looked at some of their code.

WOW is it old-fashioned!

This kind of stuff went out of style at least 4 or 5 and maybe 7 or more years ago:


with(milonic=new menuname("Milonic")){
style=menuStyle;
top="offset=2";
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;separatorsize=1;text=Product Purchasing Page;url=http://www.milonic.com/cbuy.php;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;text=FAQ;url=http://www.milonic.com/menufaq.php;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;text=Newsletter Subscription;url=http://www.milonic.com/newsletter.php;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;text=Contact Us;url=http://www.milonic.com/contactus.php;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;separatorsize=1;text=Discussion Forum;url=http://www.milonic.com/forum/;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;text=Software License Agreement;url=http://www.milonic.com/license.php;");
aI("offcolor=#E9E230;text=Privacy Policy;url=http://www.milonic.com/privacy.php;");
}

Nobody would do it like that, nowadays, I would hope.

ptmuldoon
Aug 4th, 2012, 04:55 PM
Thanks for the help and tips guys. But unfortunately, my existing fantasy football provider is already using the Milonic Menu system. Thus, I'm looking at ways to manipulate the existing style and layout of the menu, as I can not redo the entire thing since the menu is dynamically generated by the provider and is subject to change periodically. But I can edit the css and menu info via javascript includes, etc in the header.

Old Pedant
Aug 4th, 2012, 11:48 PM
So did you read my message #3?

It looks to me like your code is backwards.

ptmuldoon
Aug 5th, 2012, 06:24 PM
So did you read my message #3?

It looks to me like your code is backwards.

Yes, I tried placing mm_changeMenuStyle after/below the NewStyle, but it still didn't work.

I was able to now get registered on the Milonic boards, and hoping someone there can help with it as well. If not, its no big deal. Its just a fantasy football site, and myself looking to learn some :)