PDA

View Full Version : Requesting Help for beginner Jscript

ShadowBoss
Apr 5th, 2012, 03:56 AM
hi folks extreme newbie here when it comes to javascript.

I have an assignment that in which ive created the html+css for the webpage (a pizza form validation basically).

and Now I must do the javascript aspect of it. Unfortunately I have no idea how to even begin i dont understand how to use any of these .toUpperCase() .toLowerCase(), how to use window.open for errors instead of alert and all these other things.

the way i'm coding it, is with an external file called script.js that will have all my coding and then i have my index.html file...i dont know how to 'call' (if thats the right term) the function to the index.html...or even make jscript code either lol.

as an example of a requirement:

field01 - Client Surname-
Maximum allowable length is 15 positions
Must be present.

Minimum of four (4) alphabetic characters
lower case (a-z) or upper case (A-Z) or a mix of lower & upper case.

Optional special characters

Optional one (1) apostrophe
if present - must have at least 1 alphabetic character before it and one alphabetic character after it.

Optional one (1) hyphen
if present - must have at least 1 alphabetic character before it and one alphabetic character after it.

this is my assignment requirements for those need a better understanding of what's going on
https://cs.senecac.on.ca/~int222/assignments/121/assignment3-2/

my request is if there is anyone who can lead me in the direction to a website or downloadable book on how to do what it's asking (in no way am i asking someone to do my assignment for me).

My professor has his website that has all these predefined things (im assuming are functions) that should be used but i dont understand it nor do i understand him.

Any help would be immensely appreciated, thank you.

Mishu
Apr 5th, 2012, 04:07 AM