PDA

View Full Version : Layout out background ?



jumpstyler
Mar 2nd, 2012, 05:06 AM
Hi im new here, sorry for being a noob :-( but i need some help, i have sliced my layout in ps and coded in dw and saved it but i have its as if my layout is on top of a white background screenshot below.

http://imageduck.net/img.php?image=5835_screenshot_4h20.png&mode=thumb (http://imageduck.net/viewer.php?file=5835_screenshot_4h20.png)

But what i need help with is that i don't want any background i just want my layout too be full size no white at the side, top or bottom :( any help thanks.

nasyitah08
Mar 2nd, 2012, 06:10 AM
hi there, is your background the correct size? Maybe its too small for your current screen resolution. What is the size of your background are you working with? 1024 or 1280?

This site might help you. Its quite detailed.

http://css-tricks.com/perfect-full-page-background-image/

Let me know if you still need any help after trying out the tutorial there :cool:

jumpstyler
Mar 2nd, 2012, 06:52 AM
hi there, is your background the correct size? Maybe its too small for your current screen resolution. What is the size of your background are you working with? 1024 or 1280?

This site might help you. Its quite detailed.

http://css-tricks.com/perfect-full-page-background-image/

Let me know if you still need any help after trying out the tutorial there :cool:
hi thanks for taking time to reply, the thing is i don't want any background, as you can see in the image the layout has chain links designed at the side of the layout i wan't them to be at the end of the layout and no white back ground.

Like this layout is full sized with no background
http://www.4templates.com/site/template_images/previews/946353244.jpg

nasyitah08
Mar 2nd, 2012, 07:31 AM
if thats the case, you should crop out the bottom part of the current background that you have. Prolly 1-2px height and add a div at the bottom to repeat-y.. It would then repeat downwards

jumpstyler
Mar 2nd, 2012, 08:47 AM
heres a quicky explaination look at my picture zoom it if you want and notice my layout has white sides and at the top and bottom but i dont want them there.... i just want my layout to stretch.

So all i see is my layout (NO background) no white, just my layout..

SB65
Mar 2nd, 2012, 10:46 AM
It looks like your page has a fixed width and is centred on your page - with the result that beyond certain screen widths it has white space around it.

A link to your page would help here as otherwise we're guessing...

jumpstyler
Mar 2nd, 2012, 11:34 AM
It looks like your page has a fixed width and is centred on your page - with the result that beyond certain screen widths it has white space around it.

A link to your page would help here as otherwise we're guessing...~

heres a link http://crazyduck.net84.net ive added a grey background this time but like i sed i dont want any background.
Heres a an example of what i want http://music-evolution.co.uk as you theres no bg just the layout itself.

SB65
Mar 2nd, 2012, 11:41 AM
Well, your table is 780px wide and centred - so it isn't going to fit the whole page.

There is no quick fix to this, I'm afraid. You can change the width of the table but that will break your design. If you want the page to be flexible and expand to the full width of the viewport you'll need a major redesign. :(

Avoid the use of tables for layout - this will allow your design to be more flexible and more easily changeable.

The other link you posted is not full width either, actually, it's 1136px wide. Depends how wide your screen is.

jumpstyler
Mar 2nd, 2012, 11:47 AM
Well, your table is 780px wide and centred - so it isn't going to fit the whole page.

There is no quick fix to this, I'm afraid. You can change the width of the table but that will break your design. If you want the page to be flexible and expand to the full width of the viewport you'll need a major redesign. :(

Avoid the use of tables for layout - this will allow your design to be more flexible and more easily changeable.

The other link you posted is not full width either, actually, it's 1136px wide. Depends how wide your screen is.

Oh right, thanks anyway. so do i just make a redesign or can i just reslice/code it again with the right width etc

SB65
Mar 2nd, 2012, 12:08 PM
Up to you really.

Getting rid of the table would be a good thing, it'll make it easier to change your design in the future. Tables are vastly inflexible and unnecessary for layout.

That said, we live in the real world and it's probably quicker for you now to just recut the design to fit a wider table.