PDA

View Full Version : I have a code in which I am suppose to create a submit button which will calculate

Sied704
Feb 13th, 2012, 04:53 AM
I need this code to calculate the sales tax when you hit the submit button and I can't get it to work. I need to figure out how to connect it to the function. Can someone please point out where I am going wrong? I am very new at this and am woundering what I am doing wrong with my code. This is homework, I am not looking for the answer I just need someone to direct me in the right way.Thanx

Here is my Code: I need this code to calculate the sales tax when you hit the submit button and I can't get it to work. Can someone please point out where I am going wrong?

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
/*<![CDATA [*/
//Shipping & handling fee

function calculateShipping()
{
var num = new Number(price);
//This will add $1.50 to any purchases that are less than or equal to $25.00.
if (num <= 25){
return 1.5;
//Here 10% will be added to any purchase that is greater than $25.00 but do not inlcude the

$1.50 fee.
} else{
return num * 10 / 100;
}
}
window.alert("Your total is $" + total + ".")

/* ]]> */
</script>
</head>

<body>
<h1>Enter Purchase Price Here</h1>

<script type="text/javascript">
/* <![CDATA[ */

document.write(parseFloat");
if(price <=25.00){var shipping=1.50}
else{var shipping=price*(10/100)};
var total=(price+shipping).toFixed(2);

/* ]]> */
</script>

<form id="btncalcprice" action="submit-form.php">
<input type='text' name='query'>
</form>

<form>
<input type="button" value="Submit" onClick="alert('YOUR total is $'); return true">

</form>
</body>

Co1dFusion
Feb 13th, 2012, 08:02 AM
Did you mean to have two separate forms?

Go to this site (http://www.w3schools.com/JS/js_form_validation.asp)

This is important, and assigns the variable "x" the value of "fname" in "myform". You cann't just assume that x is the form because its called that.

var x=document.forms["myForm"]["fname"].value;