PDA

View Full Version : Mouseover Images



TR6speed
Nov 26th, 2011, 11:11 PM
I tried to use the CSS Horizontal List Menu from http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/script2/csstopmenu.shtml, and it is working with the one exception of the three images not showing up. I did did save them to the directory that contains the page I pasted the scripts to, and all of the links are showing in plan test only. I placed them original in a sub-folder call graphics which is the folder I have all of the graphics in. I also place them in the root director that has all of the HTML fiiles.

xelawho
Nov 26th, 2011, 11:21 PM
I think we might need a link to your page here...

TR6speed
Nov 26th, 2011, 11:27 PM
Thanks for the reply, but the page is a test page on my pc and not up loaded to the a server. I guess I could upload it if that is what you need.

xelawho
Nov 26th, 2011, 11:29 PM
it could be a million things (well, maybe not. but it could be quite a few) why not save us the pointless guesswork?

TR6speed
Nov 27th, 2011, 12:02 AM
OK here is the link to this page. http://jacksvettesite.coffeecup.com/Test.html

xelawho
Nov 27th, 2011, 12:20 AM
is there supposed to be a file at
http://jacksvettesite.coffeecup.com/javascripts/csshorizontalmenu.js

?

TR6speed
Nov 27th, 2011, 12:33 AM
Yes that javascript is in the js folder on my side of the server and the css file is in the css folder, both of which are sub folders of the main folder.

xelawho
Nov 27th, 2011, 12:34 AM
no it's not, click on the link above.

but if you click on
http://jacksvettesite.coffeecup.com/js/csshorizontalmenu.js

you will see your file.

so te first thing you need to do is change that line in your http://jacksvettesite.coffeecup.com/Test.html page

TR6speed
Nov 27th, 2011, 12:53 AM
I see what I did I had it pointing to javascripts/csshorizontalmenu.js and it should have been js/csshorizontalmenu.js.

I now have the drop down menu's but the main button links are not showing the green color and the two drop down boxes do not have the down arrow.

xelawho
Nov 27th, 2011, 01:48 AM
looks like you're going to have to change the paths to your graphics, too - have a look in your css file. this line:
background: url(menubg.gif) center center repeat-x;
assumes that the graphic is in the same folder as the css file, but as you say it is not.

I think (but I always get confused with this) that it should say
background: url(../graphics/menubg.gif) center center repeat-x;

give it a go, anyway, or just move your graphics into your css folder :D

TR6speed
Nov 27th, 2011, 02:16 AM
Well by simply dropping the three images into the CSS folder it is working fine. It does seem like the path should point to the original folder that they were in (Graphics) but I tried to point the url(menu.gif) by redoing the path but it still did not care for it.
If I remember correctly I tried to set a page background image in a style sheet and it would not work. but with I set the style sheet on the page it worked. something about a linked style sheet.
Thanks for all you help it was much appreciated.