PDA

View Full Version : Why Do Coders Still Do This?

devinmaking
Oct 21st, 2011, 08:37 AM
Hi guys

I recently won my first project which was on freelancer.co.uk which was for next to nothing and not worth my time but the end of the day its experience in what i am studying ;)

Anyway the job was "stop my website getting hacked".

As this was a basic cms website i new it would be easy ish but when looking through the code it strikes me that the only hacking going on is url injection as every page has:

$variable = $_GET['id'];

$query = "SELECT * FROM table WHERE id='".$variable."'";
$result = mysql_query($query);

I asked the person where and when did she get her website coded and she stated it was about 5 months ago by a indian company from freelancer.com

My friend who is a coder says expect everyone who comes on your sites to want to take the site down, even the admins of the site, this way you will always be prepared!!

Why do coders still code without thinking that 30% of people out there will try to hack you.

MattF
Oct 21st, 2011, 12:37 PM
The customer likely got what they paid for. Good coders cost good money.

Fou-Lu
Oct 21st, 2011, 03:31 PM
30%? 100% in my book. No user is to be trusted, and should be treated as dirty. This includes anything that the user gives you.

I'm with MattF. Accepting the lowest bid is often a bad idea on any project. Given the above, it would be a trivial change to fix this, but that begs the question of why its like this in the first place. With more features comes more complexity, and with more complexity comes more bugs, so yeah I can certainly see even security errors popping up in professional scripts. But this? This is just negligence in my book which has no excuse from any "company" accepting paying contracts.

tangoforce
Oct 21st, 2011, 04:27 PM
Hi guys
Anyway the job was "stop my website getting hacked".