PDA

View Full Version : browser compatability issues with my wordpress theme



sixrfan
Sep 22nd, 2010, 07:51 PM
i'm working on a site located here: http://cpanel4.frontline.net/~ggarchit/. the site looks great in Firefox and Chrome. But for some reason practically none of it translates over to Safari 4.0.4. In fact it looks worse than if i was looking at it on my blackberry. Also with Internet Explorer 8, the dark bar that stretches across the header doesn't even appear.

i was told it might have to do with the errors in my style sheet, defined by the validator: http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?warning=2&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fcpanel4.frontline.net%2F~ggarchit%2F

I just have no idea how to fix these 8 errors. here's the stylesheet code: http://pastebin.com/Jscy0Ni5

any idea how to fix these errors???

abduraooft
Sep 23rd, 2010, 12:20 PM
The @charset rule may only occur at the start of the style sheet. Please check that there are no spaces before it. @charset "UTF-8";
I think that's self explanatory.

sixrfan
Sep 23rd, 2010, 02:41 PM
well when i move the @charset line to the very top of the style sheet, the number of errors increased from 8 to 15!

please advise.

SB65
Sep 23rd, 2010, 02:48 PM
You have visibility:none, which should be visibility:hidden, but all the others are because you're using either browser specific css (-moz-border-radius etc) or css3 (border-radius/nth-child) or IE specific css(zoom). Don't worry about these.

Your page looks fine to me in Safari 4/XP.

EDIT: Ignore this nonsense:
You have to use new version of safari.

sixrfan
Sep 23rd, 2010, 03:23 PM
thanks. i cleaned up the visibility error. the size looks much better now in safari.

regarding IE, any idea how i get the dark stripe across the top to show? it's the one that appears at the top of the screen in firefox/safari/chrome, but not IE.

please advise. thanks!

SB65
Sep 23rd, 2010, 03:49 PM
I get the black stripe in IE7 and IE8...

sixrfan
Sep 24th, 2010, 01:49 AM
great! that's weird that I dont see it. I use the IETester program and it doesnt show on there.