PDA

View Full Version : Background image problems



CarlMartin10
Sep 9th, 2010, 05:42 AM
on this page: http://billboardfamily.com/about/

In IE8, the image above the text in the big gray area loads SOMETIMES, but not always, and when it does load....it looks like it STARTS TO repeat once again into the text. Any ideas why this is happening?

Works like a champ in Firefox.

Doctor_Varney
Sep 9th, 2010, 06:44 AM
Wearing teeshirts for a living?! Hmmm...

Dr. V

CarlMartin10
Sep 9th, 2010, 07:37 AM
Wearing teeshirts for a living?! Hmmm...

Dr. V


LOL. We are not turning anyone into walking billboards....We are the billboards. And, this is actually a pretty successful and popluar niche business ... check these guys out: www.iwearyourshirt.com

mathew1204
Sep 9th, 2010, 08:13 AM
I think you need to check the script which is loading the image .

Mathew
Web Design (http://www.comnez.com/)
Joomla Development (http://www.comnez.com/)

CarlMartin10
Sep 9th, 2010, 08:15 AM
I think you need to check the script which is loading the image .

Mathew
Web Design (http://www.comnez.com/)
Joomla Development (http://www.comnez.com/)


What script would that be??? I have this set in css as the background image.....no script!


/** BEGIN about us columns **/

#table {
width: 730px;
overflow: hidden; /*contain floats*/
background-color: #f2f2f2;
font-family: Arial;
-moz-border-radius: 8px;
-webkit-border-radius: 8px;
-khtml-border-radius: 8px;
behavior: url(/border-radius.htc);
border-radius: 8px;
}
.inner {
padding: 455px 10px 10px;
background: #f2f2f2 url(../images/aboutus_bg.png) no-repeat 0 0;
width: 710px;
-moz-border-radius: 8px;
-webkit-border-radius: 8px;
-khtml-border-radius: 8px;
behavior: url(/border-radius.htc);
border-radius: 8px;
}
#table .block {
border-top:10px solid #fff;
margin:10px -10px 0;
padding:8px 10px;
}
.column {
font-size: 11px;
float:left;
width:345px;
background:transparent url(../images/largedots.png) repeat-x;
padding-top:4px;
padding-bottom:5px;
color: #000000;

}
.column p {
padding-right:18px;
}
.row {
background:transparent url(../images/smalldots.png) repeat-x 0 bottom;
float:left;
padding:3px 0;
}
.about {
margin-bottom:15px;
background:transparent url(../images/smalldots.png) repeat-x 0 top;
height:1%
}
.rowinfo {
float:left;
width:210px;
font-weight:bold;
}
.column h3 {
color:#00AFEF;
font-size: 14px;
margin-bottom:0;
padding:5px 0 6px;
}
.row-head {
float:left;
width:134px;
padding-left:1px;
}
.column a {
text-decoration: none;
outline:0;
color:#00AFEF;
}
.column a:hover {
text-decoration: underline;
outline:0;
color:#00AFEF;
}

/** END about us columns **/

Doctor_Varney
Sep 9th, 2010, 02:24 PM
LOL. We are not turning anyone into walking billboards....We are the billboards. And, this is actually a pretty successful and popluar niche business ... check these guys out: www.iwearyourshirt.com

I'm sorry... Ahem! You'll have to excuse me. I'm British.

Dr. V

CarlMartin10
Sep 9th, 2010, 09:01 PM
lol. My mistake. Anyone have an answer to the problem of the background image? lol

optimus203
Sep 9th, 2010, 09:25 PM
I've come across this problem before. It has to do with the jquery javascript your calling in the head section. Are you using either of these?



<script type="text/javascript" src="http://billboardfamily.com/wp-content/themes/mensa/assets/js/jquery-1.4.2.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://billboardfamily.com/wp-content/themes/mensa/assets/js/jquery.cycle.all.min.js"></script>


Try removing them (create a backup of course) and see if that fixes the issue.

CarlMartin10
Sep 10th, 2010, 04:20 AM
I've come across this problem before. It has to do with the jquery javascript your calling in the head section. Are you using either of these?



<script type="text/javascript" src="http://billboardfamily.com/wp-content/themes/mensa/assets/js/jquery-1.4.2.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://billboardfamily.com/wp-content/themes/mensa/assets/js/jquery.cycle.all.min.js"></script>


Try removing them (create a backup of course) and see if that fixes the issue.

I am indeed using both of those. I did as you suggested, removed them and tested. That did not fix the issue, unfortunately. It seems like it would be css related, but I can not see how.

CarlMartin10
Sep 12th, 2010, 11:15 PM
Anyone know the answer? This is very confusing.