PDA

View Full Version : Textbox with submit button

sebas1
Jul 11th, 2010, 10:14 PM
I'm new with HTML...I'm building a site for my boss and it's going well. I just have one thing I still havent figured out. My boss would like to have something like a textbox and submit button, when you type a name in the textbox and click submit the phone # of that person appears in another textbox. Is this possible to do. any help on how I could start would be appriciated.

Rowsdower!
Jul 11th, 2010, 10:53 PM
I'm new with HTML...I'm building a site for my boss and it's going well. I just have one thing I still havent figured out. My boss would like to have something like a textbox and submit button, when you type a name in the textbox and click submit the phone # of that person appears in another textbox. Is this possible to do. any help on how I could start would be appriciated.

HTML alone will not accomplish this. You have the option to use javascript, use a server-side language (like PHP, ASP, or the like), or use both together.

You would pick your approach depending on what exactly your're trying to do. If you have a pre-determined, never/rarely changing list of users and their phone numbers then this can all be achieved via javascript without much of a learning curve.

If your list will change frequently then you would probably need to develop a database and use a server-side language to search that database and return the correct answer to the page. You could do that with or without javascript as a helper - that would be a matter of choice.

I'm guessing this is probably the former (relatively static list) so I would recommend studying up a bit on javascript. W3schools (http://www.w3schools.com/) is pretty good for beginners.

You will need to work the script out so that it does the following:
1) on submit of the form (when you click on the submit button) the script retrieves the value of the textbox.