PDA

View Full Version : how dom i 'drop' or 'pull' a menu in



adamclark
Jul 10th, 2010, 12:46 PM
I have about a dozen pages on my site, when i change something i have to change every page individually for the menu which is a pain.

How do i have one menu that i can then 'drop' or 'pull' into every page - so when i change the menu i then only have to change one menu, rather than a dozen!

I only know html/css, i'm not familiar with java. cheers.

nikee
Jul 10th, 2010, 02:24 PM
Use the PHP include function

Firstly, split your menu up to a separate file, like this:



<ul>
<li>menu item..</li>
<li>menu item..</li>
</ul>

and then just include that file on every page:


<?php include("menu.html"); ?>

karlosio
Jul 11th, 2010, 03:55 AM
or try including the file with SSI if you dont have access to PHP



<!--#include file="file:menu.html" -->