PDA

View Full Version : removing javascript from HTML to external .js is not working

bradyj
May 7th, 2003, 08:24 PM
I'm just getting into learning the full programming of JavaScript, so this is probably a pretty common question -- however, I have tried to copy the Javascript I've used in the body of my html, to an external file, and it is not working (and, yes, I have put a link in the body -- I also tried dropping a link in the head just to try it, but it isn't flying).

Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong? I figured it would be a pretty straight forward copy and paste:o

You may view the source at:
www.dotfive.com/belairedisplays/main/whoweare.html

Any of the pages that links to this require the same javascript rollover menu (god bless dynamic drive), and have it pasted in already. My hope is to remove it so that I may keep the html clean (as I have already done with my CSS).

scroots
May 7th, 2003, 09:31 PM
in oyur source of that page i see no link to an external javascript file that is possibley problem 1.

scroots

bradyj
May 7th, 2003, 09:37 PM
Yes, I don't have a link -- I probably didn't write clearly, sorry.

I tried a link, and it didn't work -- so the site that I posted doesn't have the link -- it's the original file with the javascript still in it.

I'm trying to figure out how to get the javascript out and link it to make it work. Just cutting my <script> tags out and placing it in a .js file (without the script opening and closing) did not work.

scroots
May 7th, 2003, 09:41 PM
search for javascript inside javascript for how place javascript tags inside javascript files.

search also for external javascript file and there should be some info.

if oyu can't find anything, post back and i'll see what i can do.

scroots

bradyj
May 7th, 2003, 09:47 PM