PDA

View Full Version : Background-image is sitting farther down in IE than in FireFox



Doug09
Mar 19th, 2010, 06:56 PM
http://www.GameFrat.com/GameFrat2.0/

Hey guys,

This is really getting on my nerves. I have it set up now to look perfectly in IE because that's what the entire Internet still practically uses. But for the 5-10% who visit my site in FireFox, I won't it to look just like how it does in IE.

So here's what I have...
Background-image = http://www.gamefrat.com/GameFrat2.0/templates/GAMEFRAT/images/bg.jpg


html, body {
background-color: #004068;
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
background:url(/GameFrat2.0/templates/GAMEFRAT/images/bg.jpg) repeat-x #004068;

}

If I can't figure this out, I'll more than likely have to scrap the idea just because I don't want my site to look broken in any browser. (Also note the site isn't online, I'm currently upgrading it so when you visit the site please refresh once. When you originally load the site, it doesn't load everything, but on a refresh it will)

Anything I can do here to get the background-image to correspond with the rest of the look of my site?

Thanks!

Excavator
Mar 19th, 2010, 07:13 PM
Hello Doug09,
Even though your site is geared toward IE users you should be aware that FF is showing what you actually have coded.
For the best chance at cross browser compatability you should write valid (http://validator.w3.org/) and semantic (http://robertnyman.com/2007/10/29/explaining-semantic-mark-up/) code and test it in FF. Once you're sure the code is right, then you can deal with IE.

Your site has 634 errors (http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3a%2f%2fwww.gamefrat.com%2fGameFrat2.0%2f) found by the markup validator.

See the links about validation in my sig below.
Maybe you should have a look at the link about tables too.

Doug09
Mar 19th, 2010, 07:21 PM
Hello Doug09,
Even though your site is geared toward IE users you should be aware that FF is showing what you actually have coded.
For the best chance at cross browser compatability you should write valid (http://validator.w3.org/) and semantic (http://robertnyman.com/2007/10/29/explaining-semantic-mark-up/) code and test it in FF. Once you're sure the code is right, then you can deal with IE.

Your site has 634 errors (http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3a%2f%2fwww.gamefrat.com%2fGameFrat2.0%2f) found by the markup validator.

See the links about validation in my sig below.
Maybe you should have a look at the link about tables too.

I'll definitely look at cleaning it up, it was a script I bought, and I guess it has lots of errors out of the box. So I'll see what I can do about cleaning it up.

But once I'm done, what IE "hack" do you recommend to fix the issue?

Excavator
Mar 19th, 2010, 07:55 PM
But once I'm done, what IE "hack" do you recommend to fix the issue?

There is no reason to assume you will need a hack or have any issues at all. Admittedly, there are some IE bugs that need addressed in some layouts but there are lots of sites I've done that work as intended in all browsers... that's the beauty of valid, semantic code.

Doug09
Mar 19th, 2010, 08:25 PM
This is frustrating, so many errors in the php code of this script. I fix one error and 4 more popup, not to mention the fact that I'm completely oblivious on fixing half of these errors. lol

Excavator
Mar 19th, 2010, 09:33 PM
This is frustrating, so many errors in the php code of this script. I fix one error and 4 more popup, not to mention the fact that I'm completely oblivious on fixing half of these errors. lol

You paid for it, is there no support?

drhowarddrfine
Mar 19th, 2010, 10:30 PM
I have it set up now to look perfectly in IE because that's what the entire Internet still practically uses.

Oh?
IE has 62% here (http://www.netmarketshare.com/browser-market-share.aspx?qprid=0) but just over half here. (http://gs.statcounter.com/) In some European countries, IE has less than half. (http://www.atinternet-institute.com/en-us/browsers-barometer/internet-explorer-s-flaw-january-2010/index-1-2-3-187.html)