PDA

View Full Version : CSS/DIV Positioning Question

GraphicsChicken
Mar 16th, 2010, 07:24 AM
Greetings,

I am fairly new to CSS and am attempting to build a layout with it. Below I included a mockup of the basic layout I'm trying to construct. As I planned it, the outer border would be it's own DIV. Then the inner space would be it's own DIV as well, but centered within the parent DIV. Then to the left I'm attempting to float buttons but yet have the overlap.

All my attempts thus far to make this so have been futile. What would be the best way to do this?

http://i39.tinypic.com/1zqac8p.gif

I thank you for sharing your expertise regarding this matter.
Peace and long life.

Arbitrator
Mar 16th, 2010, 09:24 AM
All my attempts thus far to make this so have been futile. What would be the best way to do this?Probably floats. Here's an example; I added dashed borders and a translucent background (non-IE only) to make things easier to understand when looking over the code.

HTML5
Live: http://www.jsgp.us/demos/CF191609.GraphicsChicken.1/

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html xml:lang="en-US" lang="en-US" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
<title>Demo for CodingForums.com Thread 191609</title>
<style>
/* Test Code */
* { margin: 0; padding: 0; } /* kills non‐zero browser defaults on |ul| element */
div { margin-left: 3em; border: 1.5em solid #ff7c55; }
ul { float: left; margin: 1em 0 0; }
li { margin: 2em 2em 1em 0; }

/* Other Code */
html { margin: 1em; background: gray; color: black; }
body, ul, p { border: 0 dashed white; }
body, ul { border-width: 0.1em; }
div { background: #4a342d; color: #ff7c55; }
ul { width: 15em; border-left-width: 0; background: rgba(0, 255, 0, 0.4); }
li { display: block; padding: 0.5em; background: #d3bdb6; color: black; }
p { border-top-width: 0.1em; }
p:first-child { border-top-width: 0; }
</style>
</head>
<body>
<ul>