PDA

View Full Version : Loops in JavaScript

doddz321
Mar 11th, 2010, 01:13 AM
Hello all.

I've spent a few days now browsing this forum along with guides on the net, I'm new to JS and I'm having a bit of trouble with loops. I just don't seem to get them, I was wondering if anyone had any tips or methods (the simpler the better :D) for getting these learnt and done with?

Would appreciate any tips

Thanks

jmrker
Mar 11th, 2010, 01:42 AM
Create and post a loop script that you believe should work.
We can comment on what you code does or does not do correctly. :thumbsup:

Otherwise, the best advise would be to work through on on-line tutorial about JS loops.
Lastly, as a noobie, do you have a beginners book on JS that covers loops?

doddz321
Mar 11th, 2010, 12:04 PM
I've looked at some online tutorials on W3Schools online and webdevelopernotes.com so I'm going through them.

I've also got a few javascript for beginners books that I've not delved too far into, I assume the loops will come to me with practise and by doing them. I don't know why I'm having such a hard time with them though

jmrker
Mar 11th, 2010, 01:38 PM
So ... post some code and we can discuss it, if you continue to have questions.

doddz321
Mar 11th, 2010, 03:06 PM
After reading through the online tutorials as you suggested, I think I've got it, so thank you for your help :)

jmrker
Mar 11th, 2010, 03:23 PM
You're most welcome. :thumbsup:
Happy to help, it's just my mind reading skills suck when it comes to questions to answer. :D
Good Luck!
:)

rnd me
Mar 12th, 2010, 12:08 AM
personally, i hardly ever use loops anymore. you might try avoiding them also.

Old Pedant
Mar 12th, 2010, 12:17 AM

My head hurts.

How do you write code without using *some* loops???

Even such a simple thing as, say, showing one of many panels based on clicking on a tab?

I can imagine doing it without a loop, but it's *SO* much easier to do it with a loop.