PDA

View Full Version : how would i slice and code the css for this content area?

pbul2004
Jan 25th, 2010, 10:26 PM
Hi,

I am fairly new to css and i have completed my design in photoshop, but i dont know how i am going to slice the image up and code the css for the content areas!

They have a gradient, curved edge and a border.

I want it so that when you are typing in the div of the content area the image/borders move down with the text.

I have attached an image as im probably not explaining this very well. I know one way of doing this is to have it as a background image then have a div on top but then if the text is runs over the image it will not move down with the text.

Any info or tips on how i might do this would be great as im abit unsure of where to slice and how i could achieve my goal in css?

Thanks for any help!
Paul

jenius
Jan 25th, 2010, 11:27 PM
Ok, so being mainly a designer myself, I can feel your pain. One day, someone asked me to make a website, and I was like "sure!", so I made up the graphics nicely like you have, then suddenly realized I had no idea how to make a website.

Unfortunately, there is no easy solution on this. Coding is an entire different discipline than graphic design, and takes quite a while to get a handle on (take it from me - I've spent a large number of hours learning it, and am still struggling on many areas).

I'm not sure if anyone here would be nice enough to code this entire thing for you, because thats a lot of work, and the kind of thing that people often are paid for. I can offer you some suggestions though!

1. Buy a good CSS book, sit down by the warm fire, and do some reading. I started off with CSS: The Missing Manual (http://bit.ly/7EiIWo), and it was a super great book.

2. Start viewing the source of websites you think look good, or function well. You can see all their coding there, and learn a lot of cool tricks.