PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Problem setting up picture sizes. Problems with PC or OS I think.



effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 01:05 PM
I am adding the family section to my site but I am having problems with the sizes and aspect ratios of the final pictures. The main problem is that I cannot see the results in my editor, so find it almost impossible to get it right.

If you go here (http://www.exitfegs.co.uk) and select the family pictures option you will see what I mean.
The family option is here also. (http://www.exitfegs.co.uk/nine.html)

I cannot see a way round this problem. Help welcomed.

Frank

met
Oct 15th, 2009, 02:49 PM
little confused.

you can get the dimensions by viewing an image in a browser, right clicking, properties, etc etc. Can't you just set the height/width property of each image to their correct size?

Or do you want them all to be the same size? in which case you will need to find out how pixels scale, but they'd distort then.

I believe if you omit the height/width tags completely

i.e.
<img src="myimage.jpg" />

whilst you won't win any HTML validation cookies the pictures will display at their correct size with no problems

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 03:11 PM
Thanks for your reply, but this post has taken a different course now. My main problem was not the resizing of the images. It was my inability to check the result in my browser.

Although the page works OK from my site. It shows the distortion of the images. The same page will not show the images on hover on my PC. If I set a base address to my site it works OK. This would suggest that the images are missing from my PC, but they are not missing and in fact show up without a problem on other pages. I think that If I set a base address to my local PC it will work also at this end. But I do not know how to set the address locally. Googling has not helped either.

Weird or what. I have never had this problem before. So if you can tell me how to address my PC - C drive - folder MySite I will probably be able to edit locally instead of through my site.

Regards,
Frank

met
Oct 15th, 2009, 03:19 PM
I probably misunderstand you but you can't access local files from a website like that.

You could download all the photos, edit them locally, then reupload.

If I misunderstood, then it's likely the path is wrong.

on the website the images are in the same directory as the page, i.e

"image.jpg".

View the source offline and see what the path is...otherwise I'm slightly confused as to your problem :3

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 03:31 PM
Sorry that I didn't make myself clear. I am not addresseing local files from the website. I am addressing the website from my PC.

The program will not work on my machine - in the editor - unless I give it the base address.

<head>
<base href="http://www.exitfegs.co.uk" />

Other pages, using the same images, work fine. This makes editing a nuisance and I think that if I give a base address of my computer folder that it will help me to use the editor. I just do not know how to address the local C:\Mysite folder.

Frank

Fisher
Oct 15th, 2009, 03:49 PM
Unless you're using server side code like php, all you need on your computer is a folder (called mysite perhaps). In that folder, you should have an exact copy of everything that you would find in the webserver's folder. Then, if you just clicked on any page within that folder it would open up and look the same as it would if you were looking at it over the internet. You don't need a base reference.

Easiest way to do this would be to make a new folder on your desktop. Open up your FTP client, then copy everything from your webhost to this new folder. Then edit this local copy and upload any changes.

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:06 PM
Unless you're using server side code like php, all you need on your computer is a folder (called mysite perhaps). In that folder, you should have an exact copy of everything that you would find in the webserver's folder. Then, if you just clicked on any page within that folder it would open up and look the same as it would if you were looking at it over the internet. You don't need a base reference.

Easiest way to do this would be to make a new folder on your desktop. Open up your FTP client, then copy everything from your webhost to this new folder. Then edit this local copy and upload any changes.

Everything that is in my "MySite" folder, is on my website and vice versa.
ALL files. images etc are in the base folder both ends. Other programs using the same images etc work fine.

Note that NONE of the large images show up locally unless I use the base tag.

Frank

Frank

bazz
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:13 PM
Sorry that I didn't make myself clear. I am not addresseing local files from the website. I am addressing the website from my PC.

Frank

Ain't that the way we all access Internet pages?? ;)

I suspect Frank that path to your large images in the desktop version of your site, is not looking for images in the correct place. I think it best that it looks relatively from the web page. that means it should have the src of an image like this.



<img src='../../images/image1.jpg' />


Let me know where the images folders are, relative to the html page and I'll try to fix your link.

bazz

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:27 PM
No folders bazz. As always since I started on the web, all files and images in the base file.
http://www.exitfegs.co.uk/htdocs.

Really bazz. All of the images in the page I can load from my local folder. They are all there and available with the router unplugged. Other pages using these images have no problems.

Frank

bazz
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:39 PM
And are the links (<img src...) the same in a working file and this non-working file? If a working page and the non-working page are in the same folder and they have the same src line, they must both work. so I strongly suspect that the src path is different in the non-working page from that in the working page

Otherwise, I can't yet find another reason and not therefore a solution.

bazz

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:48 PM
I don't have a source path bazz all files are in the base of the same folder.

I am beginning to suspect my PC or the OS. Nothing else makes sense. I'll re-install Windows and back load the files from the site. I've wasted too much time on this already.

The site itself still works OK. Nothing corrupt on there. Just a few images sizes to adjust.

Thanks to all. I probably picked up a virus or some other evil code.

Frank

bazz
Oct 15th, 2009, 04:55 PM
Frank, how does any page call in an image? It uses the line in the html like this



<img src='whatever' />


If you compare the page on your hard drive, which works with the one that doesn't, you should find that those corresponding lines are different. Make the line in the broken page the same as that in the wokring one and it should be OK.


post the source of your non-working page


bazz

effpeetee
Oct 15th, 2009, 09:19 PM
bazz.

I have now re-installed the OS and downloaded the files from my ISP.

All seems to be OK. I do not know whether it had anything to do with it, but most of the trouble started just after I had installed a resize addon to Firefox 3.5.

All I have to do now is to tidy up the images. They are a mixed bag of landscape and portrait.

The page (http://www.exitfegs.co.uk/nine.html) in question is here.

Frank