PDA

View Full Version : Favicon Not Working On My Site



grahamy84
Oct 13th, 2009, 03:07 PM
www.caffevinci.com

It's the first time I've tried to use a favicon. It's 16px x 16px.

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

SlyOne
Oct 13th, 2009, 03:38 PM
have you checked your url for the favicon is correct? you just have: href="favicon.ico"

have you not got it in some image folder?

if so, it should be href="../<foldername here>/favicon.ico"

worth a check

grahamy84
Oct 13th, 2009, 04:40 PM
Hi mate, thanks for the reply.

I did name it "favicon" and made sure it saved as an .ico file. The file is saved to my main directory.

djm0219
Oct 13th, 2009, 05:07 PM
The icon appears to not be valid. If you go directly to http://www.caffevinci.com/favicon.ico you'll see
The image “http://www.caffevinci.com/favicon.ico” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

grahamy84
Oct 13th, 2009, 05:33 PM
The icon appears to not be valid. If you go directly to http://www.caffevinci.com/favicon.ico you'll see

Cheers mate. I really should have checked that out before I asked.

It's fixed now, I think my problem was that I saved the .ico file direcly from photoshop. I tried saving it as a jpeg, opening it in paint and then saving it as an .ico and it's working fine.

VIPStephan
Oct 13th, 2009, 05:34 PM
The icon is appearing correctly for me. And FYI: Usually no link to a favicon is necessary, most servers automatically display a bookmark icon that is placed in the web root directory (and called “favicon.ico”).

Oh and for the creation of favicons in ICO format there are numerous favicon generators (http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/favicon/).

grahamy84
Oct 13th, 2009, 05:46 PM
The icon is appearing correctly for me. And FYI: Usually no link to a favicon is necessary, most servers automatically display a bookmark icon that is placed in the web root directory (and called “favicon.ico”).

Oh and for the creation of favicons in ICO format there are numerous favicon generators (http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/favicon/).

Thanks for the info Stephan!

How come it doesn't work in IE though?

smarble53
Oct 14th, 2009, 04:32 AM
do you have the

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />

tag in the <head> of your page?

grahamy84
Oct 14th, 2009, 10:27 AM
do you have the

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />

tag in the <head> of your page?

Yep, I sure do. It's working fine in FF but not in IE.

Now I know IE isn't too keen on favicon's, or at least it hasn't been from past experiences BUT when I go to some websites I can see the favicon in IE so there must be a way to get it up and running.

Anyone on the inside know how to get a favicon working in IE?

abduraooft
Oct 14th, 2009, 11:04 AM
Your favicon is either corrupted or not having the required format. It's not displaying in IE(8) when I open the link http://www.caffevinci.com/favicon.ico
I use http://www.convertico.com/ to generate ico from png

grahamy84
Oct 14th, 2009, 11:20 AM
Your favicon is either corrupted or not having the required format. It's not displaying in IE(8) when I open the link http://www.caffevinci.com/favicon.ico
I use http://www.convertico.com/ to generate ico from png

Thanks for the link!

I went back to photoshop, saved the image as a png. It's been successfully converted BUT I got this message underneath the download:

Warning: imagedestroy(): 12 is not a valid Image resource in /home/convico/public_html/app.php on line 251

I uploaded it anyway and although it's still working in Firefox, it's not appearing in IE. What do you suggest I do?