PDA

View Full Version : Resolved 10 year sabbatical, I really could use some CSS help please.



dcc
Sep 21st, 2009, 05:50 PM
Hi folks,

Scroll down for the short story, read on for the longer one.

When I was much younger I did webpages for small businesses and the like using WYSIWYG software and basic HTML coding.

Now with CSS and Dreamweaver's AP Div Tags, I'm lost. Also I am a yogurt maker trying to finish my own homepage, so this is fairly out of my realm here.

However I've learned as much as I could and now Im stuck with getting IE to work properly with my nested CSS. I've looked and looked, but there are so many issues for IE that I cannot find one exactly relevant to what I am having. It is probably because I don't even know how to state the problem I'm having in the first place.

My question:

www.dreamingcow.com/blog.html in IE has the menu bar overlapping the content... i cannot for the life of me get it not to.. Ive tried relative, fixed, absolute.. text align, margin settings.... It's literally doing my head in.

Would anyone have anything helpful to add to this predicament?

Cheers!

SB65
Sep 21st, 2009, 05:57 PM
It's the default margin applied by IE to <ul> elements.

Try making this change to your css:

ul.MenuBarVertical {
border-style:groove;
border-width:thin;
cursor:default;
font-size:100%;
list-style-type:none;
margin:0;
padding:0;
width:8em;
}

(the margin:0 replaces margin-top:0)

EDIT: PS: I nominate "I am yogurt maker trying to finish my own homepage" as the phrase most unlikely to be heard again this year.

ckeyrouz
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:06 PM
I have found two problems:
There is this erroneous code:

<!--
8body {
background-color: #FFFFCC;



</div>-->
; background-image: url();
background-repeat: repeat;
}
The div having the id apDiv1 was opened but never closed.


Try correcting these two problems and see what happens.

dcc
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:06 PM
SB65,

I don't seem to have that code in my CSS.

Should I add it in somewhere?

Cheers

SB65
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:14 PM
It's SpryMenuBarVertical.css, line14.

dcc
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:19 PM
I have found two problems:
There is this erroneous code:

<!--
8body {
background-color: #FFFFCC;



</div>-->
; background-image: url();
background-repeat: repeat;
}
The div having the id apDiv1 was opened but never closed.


Try correcting these two problems and see what happens.

When you say it is erroneous, do you mean I need to delete them, or change something regarding the way it is written. This was code spat out by dreamweaver CS.

dcc
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:25 PM
Changes have been made, but IE is still being a pain.

And now Firefox wants to put my menu outside the layer.

dcc
Sep 21st, 2009, 06:53 PM
Yay!

Very nice, guys. I appreciate your help.

I just had to learn how to manually change the ul.verticalmenubar data. If I had time to learn all this stuff I would, I love it!

Back to making yogurt!