PDA

View Full Version : :: removing tab spaces from code ::



babelfish
Jun 17th, 2002, 12:42 PM
hi peeps - in the html 2 jscript converter in my sig i cant get the function to remove \r (tab) spaces

any ideas:



<html>
<title>HTML - JAVASCRIPT CONVERTER</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
input {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 11px; color: #333333; border:1px solid #333333; width:160px; padding-top:2px}
textarea {width:95%; font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 11px; color: #333333; background-color:#FFFFFF; padding:5px; border:1px solid #333333; height:55%}
p {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 10px; color: #333333}
-->
</style>

<script language="JavaScript">
<!--

function writeCode(html,syntax)
{
var code="var code=\"";

while (html.indexOf(" ")!=-1)
html=html.split(" ").join(" ");

html=html.split("\\").join("\\\\");
html=html.split("/").join("\\/");
html=html.split("\"").join("\\\"");
html=html.split("\r\r").join("\r");
html=html.split("\r").join("");
html=html.split("\n\n").join("\n");
if (syntax && syntax=="expanded") code+=html.split("\n").join("\\n\";\ncode+=\"");
else code+=html.split("\n").join("\\n");
code+="\";\n\ndocument.write(code)";

document.html.source.value=code;
document.html.convert.value=":: done ::";
document.html.convert2.value=":: done ::";
document.html.convert.onclick=null;
document.html.convert2.onclick=null;
}

function ctrlA(el) {
with(el){
focus(); select()
}
if(document.all){
txt=el.createTextRange()
txt.execCommand("Copy")
window.status='Selected and copied to clipboard!'
document.html.clipboard.value=":: copied ::";
}
else window.status='Press ctrl-c to copy the text to the clipboard'
setTimeout("window.status=''",3000)
}
//-->
</script>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#dddddd" onLoad="document.html.source.focus()">
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td width="33%">&nbsp;</td>
<td width="34%"><img src="img/html2javascript.gif" width="449" height="70"></td>
<td width="33%" valign="bottom">
<p>version 2.3<br />
updated 17.04.02</p>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<form name="html">
<div align="center">
<textarea name="source" class="box" cols="60" rows="17"></textarea>
<br>
<br />
<input type="button" name="convert" value=":: convert (compact) ::" onClick="writeCode(document.html.source.value)">
<input type="button" name="convert2" value=":: convert (expanded) ::" title="editor mode" onClick="writeCode(document.html.source.value,'expanded')">
<input type="button" name="reset" value=":: reset ::" onClick="self.location.href=self.location.href">
<input type="button" name="clipboard" value=":: copy to clipboard ::" onClick="ctrlA(document.html.source)">
</div>
</form>
<p align="center">:: html2javascript converter by babelfish - based on code created by jopie ::</p>



thanks!

joh6nn
Jun 17th, 2002, 12:59 PM
\r is a carriage return. \t is a tab. i'm thinking that's your problem.

by the way, i've meant to suggest it before, but forgotten. if you wrap the html in single qoutes ( ' ), then you don't have to escape the double quotes.

babelfish
Jun 17th, 2002, 01:14 PM
erm, tried that and it dont work :(

any ideas?

and i didnt change the " and ' cos im carp @ jscript :)

although if that was an offer i will gladly accept :)

joh6nn
Jun 17th, 2002, 04:36 PM
that was my only idea. i do know for a fact though, that tab is \t, and not \r. i double checked the Guide (http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/jscript4/) on that.

i got a couple of projects right now, but later, if you want, i'll take a look at helping you switch the quotes around.

babelfish
Jun 17th, 2002, 04:42 PM
i might hold you to that ;) and trying to workaround the document.write and style= NS4.7 bug
(try to get document.write (*style=*) to work :) )

joh6nn
Jun 22nd, 2002, 10:06 PM
ok, i did the following to your code. i haven't had the chance to test it at all, so don't throw what you have away in favor of this.

i changed it to use the replace() method of Strings, instead of the split/join combo you had. also, i tried changing the quote marks around. the places where i changed it are in red. supposing those changes work, you could delete the line in bold, as unnecessary.

hope this helps.


function writeCode(html,syntax)
{
var code="var code='";

while (html.indexOf(" ")!=-1) {
html.replace(/\u0020\u0020/g," ");
}

html.replace(/\\/g,"\\\\");
html.replace(/\//g","\\/");
html.replace(/\"/g,"\\\"");
html.replace(/\t\t/g,"");
html.replace(/\n\n/g,"\n");
if (syntax && syntax=="expanded") { code+=html.replace(/\n/g,"\\n';\ncode+='"); }
else { code+=html.replace(/\n/g,"\\n"); }
code+="';\n\ndocument.write(code)";

document.html.source.value=code;
document.html.convert.value=":: done ::";
document.html.convert2.value=":: done ::";
document.html.convert.onclick=null;
document.html.convert2.onclick=null;
}

babelfish
Jun 24th, 2002, 08:43 AM
that throws an error