PDA

View Full Version : Layout wrong after change to code



ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 04:27 PM
Hi, this is my site: http://ckybloodyalliance.ning.com/

It was built by someone at the record label who has now left, leaving me in charge.

I tampered with the CSS code without saving a backup and now the site's borders are all wrong as you can see. Can anyone help? I would be very appreciative as members love the site, but I find the layout problem embarrassing.

Here is the CSS code:


body {
background:#000000 url(http://www.roadrunnerrecords.co.uk/banners/cky-background.jpg) no-repeat scroll center 27px;
color:#EEEEEE;
font-family:"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size:76%;
}

#xg_body {
background:#000000 none repeat scroll 0 0;
margin-top:123px;
width:957px;
}

#xg_navigation {
margin-top:115px;
margin-left:130px;
}

#xg_navigation ul a {
font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
color: #ffffff;
background: transparent none;
font-size: 13px;
}
#xg_navigation ul li.this a,
#xg_navigation ul li a:hover {
background: transparent none;
font-size: 13px;
font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
color: #993300;
}
#xg_navigation ul li a {
background: transparent none;
font-family:arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 13px;
color: #ffffff;
}

abduraooft
Aug 17th, 2009, 04:40 PM
So, where's the issue and in which browser?

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 04:50 PM
Hi,

Thanks for the response. Here is a screenshot of how it appears in most browsers.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ckyphil/Picture1.png

The problem is that the content part of the page is too high up. It should fit so that the header links are in the black strip of the background header.

It seems no matter how much I try to push the page down into this space by adjusting the numbers in the code, the page defaults to looking like this.

Thanks,

Phil

abduraooft
Aug 17th, 2009, 04:56 PM
Try

#xg_navigation {/*common.m...196193732 (line 1)*/
height:1%;
margin-top:115px;
}

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 05:02 PM
Thank you,

this appears to have sorted it for now. Does the site look ok layout-wise to you now?

I think in the past I have had an issue with the layout springing back to the problem state, but I will let you know.

Thanks again


---------------------

EDIT:

It is back to how it was before. Within minutes. However, the codes in the CSS have stayed as what I had just changed them too.

Could there be a bug elsewhere?

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 08:01 PM
Thank you for your help so far. To update, I make changes to the CSS which fix the issue and sort the layout. However, within minutes the layout reverts back to its problematic form despite the CSS code staying changed.

Can anyone help? Is it a problem besides the CSS code?

Is the server loading an alternate CSS code that I need to find out about and change.

Look forward to hearing from anyone.

noneforit
Aug 17th, 2009, 08:34 PM
It looks like your website is importing the CSS code from another domain name (looks like a subdomain)....are you aware of this as below?


<style type="text/css" media="screen,projection">
@import url(http://static.ning.com/socialnetworkmain/widgets/index/css/common.min.css?xn_version=3196193732);
@import url(http://static.ning.com/socialnetworkmain/widgets/index/css/component.min.css?xn_version=1454183575);
@import url(http://static.ning.com/ckybloodyalliance/instances/css/theme_1250531618.css?xn_version=4.9.2_25489);
@import url(http://static.ning.com/ckybloodyalliance/instances/css/embed_1250302295.css?xn_version=4.9.2_25489);

</style>

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 08:47 PM
Thanks,

I wasn't aware of this but my father suggested that this could be the case since it kept changing back. What can I do to rectify this as I wasn't under the impression I had any control over the source code.

noneforit
Aug 17th, 2009, 08:56 PM
hmmmm how do you go about editing the CSS....do you use an FTP program to connect to the domain, download the CSS, edit it and re-upload?

I wouldnt reccomend moving the CSS pages as you will have to update the links on every page and this could take forever if you have a lot of pages in the site.

The change suggested by abduraooft are in the following CSS file:

http://static.ning.com/socialnetworkmain/widgets/index/css/common.min.css?xn_version=3196193732

This is the one you need to edit and the live pages will then update

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 09:25 PM
Thanks for identifying the CSS I need to change, still unsure how to locate it and edit it though.

Basically you just log in to the site, click manage and edit the CSS in a form in the 'appearance' section. I was under the impression there was only one form I could edit.

noneforit
Aug 17th, 2009, 10:01 PM
Thanks for identifying the CSS I need to change, still unsure how to locate it and edit it though.

Basically you just log in to the site, click manage and edit the CSS in a form in the 'appearance' section. I was under the impression there was only one form I could edit.

hmmmm possibly some sort of CMS system.

Could you login to the system, take a screenshot of what it looks like and show us on here?

ckyphil
Aug 17th, 2009, 10:45 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ckyphil/Picture2.png

This is all I have access to change.

I used firebug, and can read the CSS you mentioned but don't see how I can access it, change it, or tell the site to ignore it and use mine.

noneforit
Aug 18th, 2009, 09:27 AM
To be honest buddy, i havent got a clue im afraid. I edit my CSS and HTML client side and the upload the files to the webserver via FTP. It looks like whoever setup the website, implemented some sort of CMS system for the CSS code. However as long as this is the actual CSS code and has the #xg_navigation element then there is no reason why it shouldnt work.

May have to get in touch the the original designer...possibly ask him/her for the ftp details of the webserver and connect to it to download the CSS files and edit them client side

ckyphil
Aug 18th, 2009, 10:56 AM
Thanks for your help. I have gotten in touch with ning.com and the original designer, so we'll see what happens.