PDA

View Full Version : Flash problem



cloudwoven
Mar 30th, 2003, 01:47 AM
I'm having a problem with the flash "movie" on my website... The "loading" screen appears and then once it's finished, the page is blank.

Can someone take a look for me? I'd appreciate. :}

http://www.drugfreemonroe.com

Thank ya. :)

justame
Mar 30th, 2003, 02:56 AM
clo...
/me noticed some differences in your 'flash' coding...just a vs® the coding /me uses for hers...lol...
OURS...
<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"
WIDTH="700" HEIGHT="525" id="index" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="index.swf"> <PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=false>
<PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high>
<PARAM NAME=scale VALUE=exactfit>
<PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#000099>
<EMBED src="index.swf" loop=false quality=high scale=exactfit bgcolor=#000099
WIDTH="700" HEIGHT="525" NAME="index" ALIGN=""
TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></EMBED>
</OBJECT>


yours doesnt have the id="index" in it...
n' you seem to use 'percentages' vs pixel for width/height
n' ummm...ohhh ya.../me thinks ya were missing the 'loop' value tooo???

just a goodluck® n' try comparing the two ...aka yours n' /mes...:O)))

ionsurge
Mar 30th, 2003, 10:31 AM
The ID is not very important, what is important is the way you have done the ActionScripting, and how your movie has been made.


When you are making the preloader and movie, you need to make sure that they are part of the same flash movie.

Secondly, when you code, you should make sure that once the page has been loaded, you add the actionscript:


loadPercent = (Math.floor (_root.getBytesLoaded() / _root.getBytesTotal() * 100) + "%");
loadBytes = (Math.round((_root.getBytesLoaded() / 1024) * 1000) / 1000 + " KB of " + Math.round((_root.getBytesTotal() / 1024) * 1000) / 1000 + " KB");

if (_root.getBytesLoaded() == _root.getBytesTotal()){ //Check for finished loading
//If loaded, final update to fields
loadPercent = "100%";
//loadBytes = (Math.round((_root.getBytesLoaded() / 1024) * 1000) / 1000 + " KB of " + Math.round((_root.getBytesTotal() / 1024) * 1000) / 1000 + " KB");
loadBytes = ("Completed");
gotoAndPlay("Loaded"); //Where to go once your movie is loaded
}

That is my code for loading.

Where it says:


loadBytes = ("Completed");
gotoAndPlay("Loaded"); //Where to go once your movie

You want that bit to take you to the scene, or frame that you are loading.

cloudwoven
Apr 3rd, 2003, 07:25 AM
Heya ~

Guys, thanks for your replies; I really and truly appreciate them. :} The thing is that I'm actually trying to give my dad a hand with his D.A.R.E. program website - Neither one of us made the Flash movie or wrote the code, and to be honest, my specialty isn't Flash. In other words, it's pretty foreign to me.

edit: I had asked another question, but it seems that I've fixed the problem. It had to do with an accompanying text file that hadn't been uploaded correctly..? Very strange, but then again, as I said, this particular coding element is completely new to me. hehe.

Thanks again, so much, for your help!

~ Melissa :)

ionsurge
Apr 3rd, 2003, 08:40 AM
Hrm, so do you have Macromedia Flash, or even the .fla file for the swf file you used?


Maybe we can start from that and take it from there.

cloudwoven
Apr 3rd, 2003, 04:08 PM
I know my new question had probably been emailed before I edited it, so I'll repost this. Again, thank you so much for your willingness to help me out. :D


Heya ~

Guys, thanks for your replies; I really and truly appreciate them. :} The thing is that I'm actually trying to give my dad a hand with his D.A.R.E. program website - Neither one of us made the Flash movie or wrote the code, and to be honest, my specialty isn't Flash. In other words, it's pretty foreign to me.

edit: I had asked another question, but it seems that I've fixed the problem. It had to do with an accompanying text file that hadn't been uploaded correctly..? Very strange, but then again, as I said, this particular coding element is completely new to me. hehe.

Thanks again, so much, for your help!

~ Melissa