PDA

View Full Version : Rate this site...



Jumpman
Jun 17th, 2002, 12:03 AM
It wasn't my idea to use the frames that is what I was told to do... eww.... but other than that could you take a look and tell me what you think needs to be changed and how it looks on different browsers and screen sizes

www.urchicagohomes.com

Thank you.

Jeewhizz
Jun 17th, 2002, 12:16 AM
Set the frame border thickness to 0

applesauce
Jun 17th, 2002, 03:43 PM
Nice!

I agree about the border thickness:thumbsup:

MrJL
Jun 17th, 2002, 04:42 PM
Frame Border to 0.
Make it fixed, so users can't "resize" the frame.

Now, I have a question for you. You say you were told to use frames. My question is this - WHY? If this person (I assume the Client?) said to use frames because s/he likes having the navigation on every page, there's easier ways and you should convince him/her of this. I would, anyway, simply because I don't like frames.

The GRI, CRS, & ABR graphics? What's GRI, CRS, & ABR? Link them to their respective pages if they have one?

Also, this is just a pet peeve with me, but I find sites that don't use the [email protected] e-mail to be sloppy & unprofessional. :( Even if you just set up a Forwarding Account (alias) that sends all mail from [email protected] to her "real" e-mail address. :)

Hope this helps. :)

Jer!

ACJavascript
Jun 17th, 2002, 06:03 PM
I totaly agree with MrJL,

I think you should get rid of those frames.

chant(DOWN WITH FRAMES | DOWN WITH FRAMES!!!!!!!!!!)

you could also use cgi to implement a navigational system, so that way you can adjust the settings but never have to change all the pages by hand:D:D

Roy Sinclair
Jun 17th, 2002, 06:09 PM
You have <font> tags which aren't matched to </font>. You have a few cases of invalid nesting <i><u></u></i> is valid nesting which <i><u></i></u> is invalid nesting. The popup over the "Contact" field is partially off-screen for a use with 800x600 resolution.

Running your pages through a validator like HMTL Tidy is something you should make a habit out of, it'll help you make the html code itself much more professional.

Feyd
Jun 17th, 2002, 07:20 PM
If you want to use frames, that is fine. Any one who says otherwise is typically giving you a personal opinion...non-techy end users (unlike those of us here) don't really see them (if they are done right). Though, as was said, there are easier ways.

Take off the margins of your top frame, remove the border (maybe a better idea would be to replace the border with a 1px dark line..looks cleaner). Also consider how important search engine listings are for you, since if they are important, you are going to need to update your frameset and framed pages to give you better search engine positioning (which is the only real drawback to frames these days). Set the resize on the header frame to no, scrolling to auto on the content frame. There isn't much content to the site, so not that much can be said...but... I'd put a border or drop-shadow around that main city pic of yours; try and get it a bit higher quality (you've got some jaggies in the image); definitely consider adding more content and altering your intro content by adding links into it or breaking it out into sections a bit more (I mean, on most resolutions, your bottom links are below the fold, so I'd have to have a need to read that text, and then scroll down to see what you are doing...don't rely on your upper nav to control your nav itself).

Mainly I'd say content needs to be added, since there really isn't any.