PDA

View Full Version : my first web build php or asp.net

Bimm
Jan 31st, 2009, 12:07 AM
I'm currently planning my first web site build, i have a little html knowledge and plan to learn everything that I possibly can but my question is this ..

Im looking to create a database driven website and would like to know which would be the easiest language to learn to program it in. PHP with mysql or asp.net with a sql back end.

I have no prior knowledge of any of this and whichever i choose will be a huge learning curve, I'm just wondering which would be slightly easier to learn and what the advantages are of each. The database end of things will need to be able to hold or reference some kind of movie file (mpeg or flash movie etc.) other than this the database will hold simple text files.

Please could you give advise or point me in the right direction, i am ready to learn just uncertain which will be the easiest path for me.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

thanks.

B

gnomeontherun
Jan 31st, 2009, 12:45 AM
I say PHP because the support available is huge. Just look at the thread counts for the forums in PHP versus ASP, PHP dominates. Its a great language, not for everything, but I think its the place to start. It is where I started, and ASP is a little more of a niche thing. Most servers offer PHP, but not all offer ASP. Proprietary software...

oracleguy
Jan 31st, 2009, 01:02 AM
I say PHP because the support available is huge. Just look at the thread counts for the forums in PHP versus ASP, PHP dominates. Its a great language, not for everything, but I think its the place to start. It is where I started, and ASP is a little more of a niche thing. Most servers offer PHP, but not all offer ASP. Proprietary software...