PDA

View Full Version : Site breaks with FireFox 3

HVGrunt
Dec 9th, 2008, 12:00 AM
Hello all, I am very new to XHTML-CSS so I need some help with my website.

My website that I have almost completed looks good in IE 7 but gets distorted in FireFox 3. Can any of you experts please tell my what I can change in my code or CSS file to fix the problem.

The temp web page is located at: www.hostveteran.com/index.html

Please view with FireFox 3 to see the problem.

Thank You! :)

drhowarddrfine
Dec 9th, 2008, 02:46 AM
First rule of web developing. Never, ever use IE as a reference for how things work. Use Firefox as your reference, then fix IE. Now, onto looking at the page.

Also, specify what is exactly wrong. It looks like the only thing wrong is the order button.

HVGrunt
Dec 9th, 2008, 02:57 AM
First rule of web developing. Never, ever use IE as a reference for how things work. Use Firefox as your reference, then fix IE. Now, onto looking at the page.

Also, specify what is exactly wrong. It looks like the only thing wrong is the order button.

Thanks for the advice. I will start coding for Firefox first then IE. ;)

As for the broken parts of the website they are:

1. The order button in the header moves up in firefox.

2. Firefox shows a empty space in between the top navbar and the picture below it.

3. The logos picture at the bottom of the page near the footer only appears in IE and not Firefox.

Those are the three main things I cant figure out how to fix.

Thanks Again! :thumbsup:

drhowarddrfine
Dec 9th, 2008, 02:59 AM
Well, it's obvious you used IE to create this page because you ran into IEs bug of not collapsing margins properly. Also, no one in the world ever has a reason for a 'clearing div' no matter what you may have read somewhere. Get rid of all of them and let's see what it looks like. Use Firefox when you make corrections. Ignore IE till you get it working right in FF while working on one section at a time.

HVGrunt
Dec 9th, 2008, 03:42 AM