PDA

View Full Version : Are frames bad?

don
Feb 24th, 2003, 06:06 PM
I am fairly new to web development and would like advice.

When I first started I heard that frames were bad and should be avoided. I have a couple of web sites to develop that have a common header and footer that I'd like to simply put into frames and then have two frames in the middle, one for navigation and the other for the meat of the apps.

Right now I'm using tables which, for whatever reason, don't render themselves right about 5% of the time. Also, using the tables makes kind of ugly code with the <table> tag in the header include and </table> in the footer include.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

cg9com
Feb 24th, 2003, 06:53 PM
well, in my opinion frames arent exactly bad, they just have a few issues like bookmarking certain pages isnt possible, also search engine submission can be tricky i hear.

i dont use frames often, i stick with iframes (rarely) and scrolling divs, to give the same type of effect.

as far as the tables, some say table based layouts arent the way to go. personally i use both.
unless your terribly worried about browser support, i say go with a more css based layout, customized divisions for layout will make for much cleaner code, make sure you stick to web standards.

don
Feb 24th, 2003, 07:42 PM
At the risk of sounding dumb, what do you mean by CSS based layout? I think of CSS as a way of identifying fonts, colors, borders, etc. Is there something I don't know.?

Also, I can't believe how stupid I have been in putting my entire page into one huge table instead of a table for the header, one for the body, and a third for the footer. Oh well, live and learn.

On the use of frames, one advantage I found is that you can always keep the footer at the bottom of the page, regardless of whether or not content scrolls it off.

Thanks for your input. Anyone else?

Cybertooth Tiger
Feb 24th, 2003, 08:03 PM