PDA

View Full Version : Need help with implementing Google Custom Site Search



colinkites2000
Oct 26th, 2008, 07:33 PM
So I bought the google custom site search and pasted the code into my page. It "looks like" it is setup correctly but my results do not appear. The best thing I can get out of the search of my page is a link to the homepage. I've searched through the google documentation and tried changing some settings but nothing appears to be working. I'm assuming I must be doing something wrong since I am a relative novice and the program works well for others. If anyone is willing to take a look, it would be greatly appreciated.

For example on the tools page, I type in saw (which is mentioned there) and it gives no results....

http://www.abrametal.com/search_results.html
http://www.abrametal.com/brushes.html
http://www.abra-metal.com/tools.html

Cheers!

GalaxyCode
Oct 27th, 2008, 02:01 PM
When you were setting it up, did you enter the URL of your site correctly?
It may be indexing the wrong site.
Plus, it looks like you have IFRAMES, and Google CSE hates iFrames.

colinkites2000
Oct 27th, 2008, 03:38 PM
I did enter the site correctly, however, we did switch hosting companies (kept same domain) and also updated the site significantly. Iframes seemed like the most simple solution but I'll see what the alternative is and try that out. Any other insight appreciated. Thanks for your help. Colin

Apostropartheid
Oct 27th, 2008, 08:28 PM
Google has yet to crawl your site (http://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aabra-metal.com&rls=com.microsoft:*:IE-SearchBox&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&sourceid=ie7&rlz=1I7DKUK). Simple as that.

(Also, please don't make the search results pop up twice: that's really annoying.)

colinkites2000
Oct 27th, 2008, 09:03 PM
Why would they pop up twice?

colinkites2000
Oct 27th, 2008, 09:05 PM
Also, isn't it stranged that you pay for a service and then have to wait weeks for google to crawl your site while they already have your cash? What's the deal? I thought I was doing something wrong for sure.

Apostropartheid
Oct 27th, 2008, 09:53 PM
It HAS crawled abrametal.com but NOT abra-metal.com, but apparently the former's results return everything in Spanish (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&rls=com.microsoft%3A*%3AIE-SearchBox&rlz=1I7DKUK&q=site%3Aabrametal.com). Which one do you want it to crawl, bearing in mind that Google hates duplicate content? I'm sure it's just a wait till the spiders get to it again, but I'm sure chatting to support will help. How long ago did you pay for the service?

colinkites2000
Oct 27th, 2008, 11:18 PM
Paid for the service about 2 weeks ago now. The spanish results that come up no longer exist - they were on an older site that was once crawled by google. Ok, well I suppose I will just wait then and hope google crawls it before too many clients and my boss get upset! Thanks for your help. Abra-metal was another domain that is redirect to the same pages.