PDA

View Full Version : IE 6/7 Rendering Problem With Embedded PHP Script



captdavid
Mar 9th, 2008, 07:48 PM
This Issue Has Been Resolved.... See Last Post In This Thread... Tks For The Input

Not sure if this should be posted here or in PHP forum, but as problem seems to be with processed html output and not with the script this seemed a better bet.

Have a page using css and html with a custom script embedded. Script calls info from a mysql db and displays items within an html table.

Because server must process page is named foo.php

Everything works as expected in FF but IE 6/7 chokes on the output.

The basic css and html is not pretty but functions. This project is still in initial development. Some examples follow:

Typical Page Processed With PHP (http://islandsbikesandboards.com/php-bin/show_cat.php?action=list&id=mfg_type&type=bmx&mfg=mongoose)

Same Page as Html (No Processing) (http://islandsbikesandboards.com/php-bin/show_cat.html)

If you view the pages in FF and IE you can see that FF renders as expected while IE creates some sort of a huge margin to the right. This only occurs in the case of the php script being proccessed, so I expect it is choking on the processed html output in the <div name=content> I just cant figure out what the problem area is. Using the same page framework with different content in the <div name=content> box works fine with everyone Example (http://islandsbikesandboards.com/locations/wi.html)

Remembering that the scripting/html/css is still newborn, would appreciate any suggestions. CSS HTML PHP source files available on request. Didn't post as the rendered output source seems to be the problem.

TIA
David

jlhaslip
Mar 9th, 2008, 08:02 PM
Clean up the errors on the page, first. That may remove some of the problem (or raise others)?

Use the html entity of "&amp;" instead of the ampersand in your URLS and there is a stray 'quote' running amok. likely in the php output. That might do it.

Validation is available at the w3c site. http://validator.w3.org/

captdavid
Mar 9th, 2008, 09:09 PM
I told you the page was a kludge :-)

Anyway, took your advice, and cleaned up the output markup
Ran it through the w3.org Validator (http://validator.w3.org/)
No Errors, Clean page is Here (http://islandsbikesandboards.com/php-bin/show_cat_output_tidy.html)
Also Validated style sheet for page "No Errors"
Same rendering differences still exist.
Another Suggestion?

jlhaslip
Mar 9th, 2008, 11:45 PM
Looks identical to me using IE7 or IE8 or FF2.0.12

I don't have access to IE6

Couple of things:
1. use a hash mark for the two blank href's <a href="#"...
2. use double quotes for the embedded styles <tag style="color: #ffffff" >

Dan Schulz
Mar 10th, 2008, 01:27 AM
(off-topic: jlhaslip, you can get a standalone IE 6 from http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE but be warned it will use the javascript engine on the actual installed copy of IE rather than the IE 6 engine.)

captdavid
Mar 10th, 2008, 01:40 AM
Thanks again for taking the time to check this out... Changed a few things, but it seems your first suggestion was along the right lines. I think the php arguments that are embedded in the output table are maybe whats causing ie to gork. Going to have to let php know to accept an alternative argument separator in the scripting. (Easier than letting IE know to ignore it)

One last favor. Look real close at the IE vs FF output. In my browsers the page shows different. Not much, but in the lower right corner of the FF output there is a link [ next ] to go to the next page of listings.
In IE it's not there. Also IE shows a horizontal scroll bar at the bottom. If you scroll you find the page is about 2.5 times as wide as it should be. Nothing there
but bare space ?? Thinks its all related, but would like to know if those quirks are showing up.

TIA
David

captdavid
Mar 11th, 2008, 02:08 AM
Turns out nothing to do with the php script, argument seperators or validation, although it was a good exercise in cleaning up the coding. Turns out (as usual) was butt simple and stupid, just took a while to check through 200 lines of script. If you spec a <table width=750&#37;> IE will believe you and render as such. FF is a little smarter, and just ignores anything over 100%..

Hint. . . If you have a page that is displaying differently in browsers, start commenting out the code for various sections till you find the problem.

Tks again for the reads and input.

jlhaslip
Mar 11th, 2008, 09:15 AM
(off-topic) Dan, I have had Multiple IE installed until just recently. I found that many of the IE6 issues were being altered to display as IE7 defaults, so, since it did me no good in debugging many of the IE6 flaws, I un-installed it. Since then I have installed IE8 with its included IE7 rendering. Not so sure that was a good thing yet.

(Standards be damned... full IE ahead...)

*on topic*

Glad you have it all sorted now, captdavid

_Aerospace_Eng_
Mar 11th, 2008, 11:45 AM
Multiple IE is works best when installed after IE8 or IE7 is already installed as the primary IE browser. There is a registry key that is edited by multiple IE that allows conditional comments to work. Multiple IE does not work on Vista unfortunately at least not well. For that you need VirtualPC and a MS vhd or an XP install cd.

Dan Schulz
Mar 11th, 2008, 04:40 PM
Actually Aerospace Eng, those issues were fixed in the Tredosoft version of Multiple IE. The Evolt.org version however still has those issues.