PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Suckerfish Menus on One Page

jenny_jane
Feb 15th, 2008, 04:06 PM
I'm having problems getting my two Suckerfish menus to show up in internet explorer. Currently none of the drop downs work. I believe something is wrong with the JavaScript, but I'm not sure what. I have two versions of the code where I use different JavaScript:

http://www.kittentaboo.com/forest.html

http://www.kittentaboo.com/forest1.html

Neither are working for me, so obviously I've done something wrong and don't know how to fix it. Please excuse if my code looks horrendous, I'm fairly new at this.

Thanks for any feedback or guidance.

jenny_jane
Feb 15th, 2008, 07:18 PM
Okay, I think I fixed the JavaScript issue:

http://www.kittentaboo.com/forest3.html

Although now on Firefox everything looks weird... Maybe it's now a CSS issue I'm having. Any advice is appreciated!

bazz
Feb 15th, 2008, 07:22 PM
Just looked at in in FF and don't see what is particularly weird.
Can you explain what it is doing that is not how you want it to be.

oh, I just looked at it in IE6. Your flyouts from the left, seem not to work and this may be because you have assingned the sfhover1 in the JS, yet the css doesn't have it. It simply has sfhover.

You might also wish to consider optimising your css where each nav (nav1 nav2 nav3 nav4), has a lot of similar code. make the css for nav1, work for all and then, add a class to each <ul> to make the background color different for each.

Not bad for someone who is new :) I have learnt something form your code too in that, one piece of js can be used for each menu with several 'getElementByID'.

Also, you might like to put your css into a separate file so that it can be cached and so, use less bandwidth.

bazz

jenny_jane
Feb 15th, 2008, 08:04 PM
I've been working on it since I posted, so I fixed most of the issues. I added a style to remove the line-height where the images are, and that seems to have fixed the major alignment issues in FF.