PDA

View Full Version : Incomplete data sent with onChange event

dodgem
Apr 6th, 2007, 11:28 PM
Hi! Before i begin, thanks in advance to all of you that live here :) There's a phenomenal amount of posts here and i'm sure i'll be back regularly!!...

I'm new to JS, and web technologies in general (coding them - not new to using them ofc), but have a pretty good understanding of programming in general. So with that in mind, onto my problem...

I'm writing a database for work using php and mysql to handle the data side of things, and JS to help get a decent user interface working. I only started on it a week ago and knew absolutely zilch about php, sql, or JS, but am getting on quite well now.

Currently i have a JS driven input field which reads the contents of the text box on the onkeyup event and populates a selection box below with data, retrieved from my database, that matches the letters entered so far. When the input field loses focus and has changed value (onChange) i want to check the data to see whether it matches something in my database. To do this i am loading a popup window which receives the data using GET and searches the database for a match. If one is found it closes, but if there is no match it prompts for information and saves the results to the database before closing.

The problem is: If i type a few letters and get a match in the selection box that i want to use and click on it, although the value appears onscreen in the text box, the actual value passed using onChange only contains the data i actually typed, resulting in the popup window not finding a match in the database even though i selected a value generated by the database!

The relevant part of my code is here:

function checkdata1(data1){
popup('checkdata.php?serial='+document.getElementById(data1).value, 'testing1');
}
</script>

<form action="popup1.php" onSubmit="popupform(this, 'testing')" method="post">