PDA

View Full Version : creating a search box



bluebirdjc
Mar 22nd, 2007, 03:23 PM
hello all i have been creating a website with propereties on containing their information cost etc. i am using textpad to do this typing in there the html code but i need to create a search box for searching for properties anyone have any ideas how to do this

karinne
Mar 22nd, 2007, 03:28 PM
Are your properties all in a DB? You'll need a server-side language like PHP or .NET or Perl to achieve the search function.

If your stuff is all in a DB like it should then you should just need to grab what's in the input box and use a select statement to search through the db and grab the records needed.

bluebirdjc
Mar 22nd, 2007, 03:32 PM
cheers for that

luke_cp
Mar 22nd, 2007, 04:36 PM
i suggest you try the server forums for a job like this, im not really sure whether you can open a search engine with html, especially if u wanted an advanced one, you really need to try some server scripts, they are really easy to learn=]