PDA

View Full Version : Protect web content

webdevelopa
02-21-2007, 09:22 AM
Hi All,

I am a web developer and I am lately becoming fairly security conscious.

So two questions for you and any help appreciated.

1)I have my hesitations about my web code being revealed to everyone through the "view page source" feature of web browsers. Apparently the source review may reveal quite a few hints that affect security. Is there a way to prevent people from seeing this?

2)Being a web developer (especially PHP) I would like to know how I can restrict my programs to run on specific domains only. In this way if someone steals my code he can not deploy it on his server.

Thanks for your help all

peter

_Aerospace_Eng_
02-21-2007, 09:24 AM
1) No. If its published anyone can see it.
2) They won't be able to see the php source. They will just be able to see the html.

Alex!
02-21-2007, 11:38 AM
You can disable right-clicking although this will only prevent people who don't really know what they are doing from viewing your source. As Aerospace_Eng said, once it's published anyone can see it.

Alex

neomaximus2k
02-21-2007, 02:14 PM
Ok the first question, hiding your source code.
Depsite what people may beleive it if impossible to hide your source code. The page gets downloaded onto the persons computer so even if you somehow dissable the view source they can still open the file in notepad and viola there's the source code. Of course there are some javascript programes out there that encode your entire site into javascript, but doing this means 1) you will rank poor in search engines, 2) It is easy to get around for anyone who knows javascript.

so in short no you can not hide your source code.

The second question about protecting your php source code.