PDA

View Full Version : Order Number on Web Form

no1uno
Jan 9th, 2007, 01:10 AM
Hi all

I am new here, so I apologise if I am in the wrong area.

Could someone please help me with a web form.
Creating the form hasn't been to hard considering I'm still learning. What I need is to be able to add a order number on the web form each time a user fills it out. The order numbers can either be consecutive or random. It will need to be added to the email that is sent to the user and to the webmaster.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Troy297
Jan 9th, 2007, 01:42 AM
First of all Welcome To CF!

Um.... what you would need is a hidden field that generates a series of consecutive numbers based upon form submissions, if it was just random you could possibly end up with the same one twice....

You would need to use something that is the HTML equivelant to the MySQL ID field... although not sure how... likely using Javascript.

And just a question but why would you need an order number if the form is just sent to you? It would make sense if you are storing the orders in a database but not in email formart?

And sorry I dont know how to do what you need.... :(

no1uno
Jan 9th, 2007, 02:27 AM
Thanks for your response Troy.

Um.... what you would need is a hidden field that generates a series of consecutive numbers based upon form submissions, if it was just random you could possibly end up with the same one twice....
This wouldn't matter too much as it wouldn't be an overly used form.

And just a question but why would you need an order number if the form is just sent to you? It would make sense if you are storing the orders in a database but not in email formart?
The form will be used to place an order at seafood store for pick up. The order number would be used in the email sent to the user and to the customer service person at the store. The client would quote the order number on collection.

felgall
Jan 9th, 2007, 02:35 AM