PDA

View Full Version : tricks to avoid spam with forms

JAP43
Nov 24th, 2006, 10:58 AM
I have made number of forms. I use formmail.cgi to handle the forms. And i have added number of javascript validations to the forms. What else should i do to make it more difficult to spammers?

ps. i dont know if the formmail.cgi gives more security i just tolld what i have done with my forms. Also if someone has experience about these js validations and know sites that has easy to understand examples(but more difficult than a if sentence which checks if the field is empty or not), please post.

bazz
Nov 24th, 2006, 11:13 AM
Shouldn;t this be in the javascript forum??

Anyway, not speaking as an expert, I would suggest that therer are a number of ways to prevent spamming of your form. One is where beside one of the taxt boxes, is a distorted image of a number, which the user must type in. If they don't the form can't submit. I think that;s best done with a server side language because JS can be switched.

another might be to make the form perform a middle step, such as a preview your message. Because this requires a double step, spam bots won't be able to do that (I think).

dAEk
Nov 24th, 2006, 02:09 PM
I suppose hidden fields (named "email", "name", "comments" perhaps?) would work to some extent. If any of these hidden fields are filled out you know a bot sent the information (human users should not be able to see the fields).

I don't really know how clever the bots are nowadays but I don't think they understand Javascript or CSS, do they?

AJW06
Nov 24th, 2006, 06:54 PM
i have a ver good javascript code that un scrambles your e-mail after it was muddled up and send you the e-mail it is a link not na form

if you want the code e-mal me [email protected]

JAP43
Nov 26th, 2006, 07:08 PM