PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver Template - Table Row vs Div

Jim Nayzium
Nov 12th, 2006, 04:07 PM
I have a ton of work already finished for my latest site.

I am a video producer, and have been asked to code up a website. Please forgive me if I sound like an amateur. The reason I sound that way, is because I am one.

I respect the professionalism of this forum and feel priveleged to be able to post here.

Here is my question ---

I have currently set-up my site to use a custom template in Dreamweaver 8.

The entire site will be driven by php and MySQL and will largely be dynamic content loaded from the databases.

The current template lists all the information necessary for the database to work correctly on each page, and has editable parts for the metadata and title and then leaves an open <tr><td> and then has

editable content region...

then in the footer it closes the table tags and html tags after displaying code for the footer itself.

I have been more than convinced by just a few posts here and other reading that CSS is far better than tables.

However, should I really go back to the drawing board with the site wide template, or just now use the CSS way for the 'editable regions.'

My main glitch is that the table expands when the content gets wider than will fit, and this drives me crazy. This is why I started doing more research, because I knew I was using ten year old coding practices to begin with.

I found your forum, immediately got converted, then had buyer's remorse with my template.

My gut feeling is I could recode the template also and it would then just be better, but the whole idea of scratching all of this work and starting over scares me.

Because I also read places comments like --- "there are some things tables do better...." but i have not really grasped the rules yet on when a table is better.

Here is the link to my work in progress site....
http://mikebake.p194.pandawebsites.com/Staging-StudioAuditions/index.php