Go Back   CodingForums.com > :: Client side development > General web building

Before you post, read our: Rules & Posting Guidelines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
Old 11-12-2002, 12:46 AM   PM User | #1
The Wizzard
Regular Coder

 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Wizzard is an unknown quantity at this point
Scam?

Hi, the company I work for recently hired someone to put our site up on google... Or make our site come up first when you search... We paid him $6,000 to do this, is this a scam, and can be done by myself?

Thanks
__________________
The Wizzard
OC Motor Cars | OC Auto Sports (Coming Soon!)
The Wizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 02:19 AM   PM User | #2
firepages
Super Moderator


 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 3,890
Thanks: 5
Thanked 79 Times in 78 Posts
firepages will become famous soon enough
depends...

IMO all seach engine placement companies are scam merchants, but not everyone would agree.

Did it work ? if it did then it was not a scam.

Getting rankings on google is less easy to achieve than other search engines because of the way google rank sites, either way I would guess it would take at least 8-12 weeks before you saw any actual improvement, and anyone that is guarenteeing 1st page results is conning you because that can not be guarenteed, unless of course they use try and con the search-engines which can end up with your site being banned from them?

Google love links, the more people that link to your site the better they rate it, they also assume if a site that links to yours is itself a highly rated site that the link is more important than from say Joe Yaks Mushroom related homepage.

Anyway If you have that sort of money to thow around why not look at Googles paid listings, the ad words select is very fair in that you always pay the lowest price per click, and whilst its a bit cryptic to configure it guarentees page views.
__________________
resistance is...

MVC is the current buzz in web application architectures. It comes from event-driven desktop application design and doesn't fit into web application design very well. But luckily nobody really knows what MVC means, so we can call our presentation layer separation mechanism MVC and move on. (Rasmus Lerdorf)
firepages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 03:07 AM   PM User | #3
jkd
Senior Coder

 
jkd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: metro DC
Posts: 3,163
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
jkd will become famous soon enough
I'd talk to http://www.codingforums.com/member.p...nfo&userid=443 if I were you.
__________________
jasonkarldavis.com
jkd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 04:05 AM   PM User | #4
zoobie
Senior Coder

 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ColoRockyz
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zoobie has a little shameless behaviour in the past
My guess is that if he's lucky, he'll get on Google's first page but not the first position on that page.

I'm in SearchEngineForums and these kinds of guys just come in and ask what needs to be done and then do it. Your company could have done it for free and will probably be disappointed IMO.
__________________
Zoobie or not Zoobie...That is the problem.
<body onUnload="flush( ! )">
zoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 09:05 PM   PM User | #5
redhead
Regular Coder

 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United Kingdom Confused: Often
Posts: 859
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
redhead is an unknown quantity at this point
my sites on google. i didnt add it though... it just... appeared... and i didnt pay anything either.
__________________
redhead
redhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 02:42 AM   PM User | #6
joh6nn
wei wu wei


 
joh6nn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 72° W. 48' 57" , 41° N. 32' 04"
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
joh6nn is an unknown quantity at this point
first on the page for what search keywords? did they specify? also, you might want to show your boss this link, and suggest he try getting that money back. also, suggest he do research first, next time.

http://www.google.com/webmasters/dos.html

from that page:
Quote:
# Be very careful about allowing an individual consultant or company to 'optimize' your web site. Chances are they will engage in some of our "Don'ts" and end up hurting your site.
__________________
bluemood | devedge | devmo | MS Dev Library | WebMonkey | the Guide

i am a loser geek, crazy with an evil streak,
yes i do believe there is a violent thing inside of me.
joh6nn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 03:16 PM   PM User | #7
BrainJar
Regular Coder

 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 185
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BrainJar is an unknown quantity at this point
Google offers paid listings. If that's what they are using you can look up the prices Google charges and compare them yourself.

Otherwise, it's probably a scam. They may just be setting up a link farm to trick Google into thinking your site is popular to improve it's ranking, which can get you delisted from Google. I'd recommend reading this article:

http://news.zdnet.co.uk/story/0,,t269-s2124329,00.html
BrainJar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 05:47 PM   PM User | #8
zoobie
Senior Coder

 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ColoRockyz
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zoobie has a little shameless behaviour in the past
joh6nn's finding of Google's policies are very revealing. I think the 'optimizer' will ignore and violate Google's 'Don'ts' to show quick results only getting your whole site banned. Like I said in my previous post...I see these cons all the time in SearchEngineForums and my guess is that he's already on a flight to Hawaii.

<extra>Some guy listed on Google actually tricked the SE into thinking he had over a million incoming links...He was rated #1 for about 3 days until he started bragging about it. He was reported to Google and now is banned.</extra>
__________________
Zoobie or not Zoobie...That is the problem.
<body onUnload="flush( ! )">

Last edited by zoobie; 11-13-2002 at 06:12 PM..
zoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Jump To Top of Thread


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Advertisement
Log in to turn off these ads.