Google recently announced that they would enable https, also known as encrypted, search for all logged in users that visit the main search engine google.com.
Logged in users who load http://www.google.com/
are automatically redirected to https://www.google.com/
. Encrypted search can be beneficial as it encrypts the traffic that is send to and received from Google. This means that no one in your computer network (e.g. admins, your boss, your ISP) can see what you are doing on the Google website. They still see that you are on Google, and will see the sites that you click on though.
All you need to do is to remove the selection of “Always use HTTPS when visiting administration pages“ option from your Personal Settings page.
Dashboard > Users > Personal Settings.