Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    Senior Coder
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    My pimped-out igloo in Canadia
    Posts
    1,966
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need a quick hand creating a link to activate a menu

    Hi,

    I'm trying to activate a JS menu from within a page and I can't figure out the proper syntax to do it :/

    here's what i'm trying to do: if you go to www.asfa.ca and click the 'Frosh' link, there opens 4 sub-links. If you click 'About Frosh' it loads a page, and on that page is a 'REGISTER NOW' link. This should simply open up the sub-link called 'Froshies Register' however because I don't know how to call it properly I am forced to reload the entire page :/

    What would the proper syntax be? Here is the menu code (well, the relevant part)

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    var p = new dTree('p', 'http://asfa.ca/');
    p.config.useLines=1;
    p.config.useIcons=0;
    p.config.closeSameLevel=1;
    p.config.folderLinks=0;
    p.config.useSelection=0;
    p.a(40000,-1,'Pages');
    p.a(40002,40000,'ASFA','about-asfa/');
    p.a(40010,40002,'ASFA History','about-asfa/asfa-history/');
    p.a(40011,40002,'Executive Committee','about-asfa/asfa-executive-committee/');
    p.a(40014,40002,'ASFA Council','about-asfa/asfa-council/');
    p.a(40208,40000,'Member Associations','member-associations/');
    p.a(40211,40208,'Support & Forms','member-associations/support-forms/');
    p.a(40215,40000,'Transparency','transparency/');
    p.a(40216,40215,'Financial Transparency','transparency/financial-transparency/');
    p.a(40217,40215,'Elections','transparency/elections/');
    p.a(40218,40215,'By-Laws & Regulations','transparency/by-laws-regulations/');
    p.a(40219,40215,'Agendas & Minutes','transparency/agendas-minutes/');
    p.a(40220,40215,'Committee Appointments','transparency/committee-appointments/');
    p.a(40206,40000,'Social Events','events/');
    p.a(40209,40206,'New York Trip','events/new-york-trip/');
    p.a(40210,40206,'Spring Ball','events/spring-ball/');
    p.a(40291,40000,'Frosh','frosh/');
    p.a(40293,40291,'About Frosh','frosh/about-frosh/');
    p.a(40294,40291,'Froshies Register NOW!','frosh/froshies-register-now/');
    p.a(40296,40291,'Frosh Leader Applications','frosh/frosh-leader-applications/');
    p.a(40295,40291,'FAQ','frosh/faq/');
    p.a(40031,40000,'Book Exchange','book-exchange/');
    p.a(40265,40000,'Funding & Awards','funding-awards/');
    p.a(40222,40265,'For Member Associations','funding-awards/spf-for-member-associations/');
    p.a(40223,40265,'For Students','funding-awards/for-students/');
    p.a(40224,40265,'Awards & Bursaries','funding-awards/awards-bursaries/');
    p.a(40285,40000,'Booth Rental','booth-rental/');
    p.a(40226,40000,'Sustainability','sustainability/');
    p.a(40228,40226,'David Suzuki Presentation','sustainability/david-suzuki-presentation/');
    p.a(40283,40228,'Presentation a Success!','sustainability/david-suzuki-presentation/presentation-a-success/');
    p.a(40227,40226,'Sustainability Committee','sustainability/sustainability-committee/');
    p.a(40229,40000,'Links','links/');
    p.a(40012,40000,'Contact ASFA','contact-asfa/');
    p.a(40225,40000,'Site Information','site-information/');
    p.a(40007,40225,'Site Credits','site-information/site-credits/');
    p.a(40004,40225,'Privacy Policy','site-information/privacy-policy/');
    document.write(p);
    //-->
    </script>
    I can give you the rest of it if need be

    Thanks

    Jay

    edit: I realize I may not have been clear: what i'm looking for is the <a href="javascript: what here">REGISTER NOW</a> that will change the page while activating the menu as if the menu link itself had been clicked
    Last edited by canadianjameson; 06-18-2008 at 07:45 PM. Reason: clarity
    Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes :)


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •