View Full Version : Ok, what have I done wrong?

10-25-2006, 05:32 PM
Ok, apologies if this is the wrong section for this.

I am trying to setup a new search facility to search domain extensions. I have all the admin side of it setup, and can search find and puirchase domains through my old setup.

What i am trying to do is have the extensions appear in a dropdown menu rather than layed out in a table with tabindex (as it is now).

I thought i had set it up correctly but all i keep getting when i hit go is 'no domain entered'.

The form isnt currently on a site (took it down as it would not work) so i have included the coding below.

Thanks in advance.

<form action="/whois/whois.php" method="get" >
<input type="text" id="domainbox" value="" name="d" />
<select name="tld" id="tlddropdown">
<option value=".co.uk">.co.uk</option>
<option value=".org.uk">.org.uk</option>
<option value=".me.uk">.me.uk</option>
<option value=".com">.com</option>
<option value=".net">.net</option>
<option value=".eu">.eu</option>
<option value=".mobi">.mobi</option>
<option value=".org">.org</option>
<option value=".info">.info</option>
<option value=".biz">.biz</option>
<option value=".tv">.tv</option>
<option value=".ltd.uk">.ltd.uk</option>
<option value=".plc.uk">.plc.uk</option>
<input type="submit" value="Go" id="subtn" />

10-25-2006, 07:38 PM
What you have done wrong is ignored the Posting Guidelines (http://www.codingforums.com/postguide.htm). Please use more descriptive titles in the future.

10-26-2006, 09:30 AM
Your problem likely lies on the side of the script that handles your form; just showing the form doesn't help a whole lot (although there aren't any immediate problems to be seen).

Some pointers:

You use the get method; are you expecting post variables?
Is there a mixup between name and id?
Do the fields you send even get filled with values?

10-26-2006, 10:06 AM
What an idiot! lol

When I made the new form I didnt think about the names of the fields and they didnt match those that the script was looking for, therefor resulting in an error!!

Thanks for your reply ronald :thumbsup: