...

View Full Version : Mozilla Firefox 2 - Out Now...



Shoot2Kill
10-24-2006, 01:42 PM
Mozilla Firefox 2 - Out Now...

not the RC3, or any BETA... but The Final (So I'M Told)

http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/2.0/

Get It Here ^ ^ ^ ^

Aradon
10-24-2006, 02:35 PM
Is this the same link that was leaked on slashdot and then taken down?

:P

Shoot2Kill
10-24-2006, 02:39 PM
LOL. I DONT KNOW.. A FRIEND JUST GAVE IT TO ME..

I INSTALLED AND IT WORKS OK.. (THE WIN32 VER)

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/2515/firefoxcq4.jpg

Masterslave
10-24-2006, 02:51 PM
Today I've installed 2.0 and I like it.
The new skin is very nice.
But we're all waiting for 3.0 off course, the new gecko is then working. :)

Here are some about:config code:


browser.tabs.closeButtons

Set to 3, and the close button per tab is gone (just like FF 1.5)



browser.urlbar.hideGoButton

Change the boolean to show/hide the go button

Aradon
10-24-2006, 03:35 PM
from the BBC Page:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/6078016.stm


Firefox 2 is released at 1700 PST (0100 BST).

*looks at watch* Nope, not 1700 PST :P

JamieR
10-24-2006, 06:29 PM
I downloaded Firefox 2.0 last night and it's a massive improvement over 1.5..As Aradon said - it is the same link as was posted on Slashdot and then removed.

Shoot2Kill
10-24-2006, 10:14 PM
Today I've installed 2.0 and I like it.
The new skin is very nice.
But we're all waiting for 3.0 off course, the new gecko is then working. :)

Here are some about:config code:


browser.tabs.closeButtons

Set to 3, and the close button per tab is gone (just like FF 1.5)



browser.urlbar.hideGoButton

Change the boolean to show/hide the go button

I LIKE THIS OPTION MORE THAN THE SINGLE CLOSE BUTTON, BUT I HAVE BEEN USING FF2 SINCE RC1 SO I JUST GOT USED TO IT..

Masterslave
10-24-2006, 10:57 PM
I LIKE THIS OPTION MORE THAN THE SINGLE CLOSE BUTTON, BUT I HAVE BEEN USING FF2 SINCE RC1 SO I JUST GOT USED TO IT..
OK, BUT THE MOST PREFER 1 CLOSEBUTTON
Also the acceskeys are working different, you 've to press alt + shift + the_acceskey instead of alt + the_acceskey as it was used to be. This is something I don't get it. Why 've they changed this?

JamieR
10-25-2006, 12:20 AM
For anyone who doesn't know, Firefox 2.0 has now been officially released.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

prototyp3
10-26-2006, 09:46 AM
i'l be upgrading soon but for now i still contented with my 1.5

radman626
10-26-2006, 10:50 PM
The fact that links that normally would open new windows open in tabs is a major perk!

VIPStephan
10-27-2006, 11:40 AM
Also the acceskeys are working different, you 've to press alt + shift + the_acceskey instead of alt + the_acceskey as it was used to be. This is something I don't get it. Why 've they changed this?

Probably because of some poorly designed websites where the accesskeys were interferring with the special characters which are also typed with Alt + [#] (I had this problem more than once).



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum