...

View Full Version : Active Desktop Problems



cg9com
11-15-2002, 03:34 PM
Hello,
i am making an active desktop, (webpage used as a background)
and i cannot get any type of popup to work, im sure its some sort of computer compatability reason, all im looking for is a method of popup that supports regular text.
i have tried a popup window
javascript alert box
and window dialog box
none work, can someone explain to me why this is?
is there a method that will work?

whammy
11-17-2002, 12:21 AM
I don't know what you mean "that supports regular text". Can you explain?

However I messed with that and had a bit of trouble as well... it seems popups don't work too well like that unless they are net address, and it kept popping up another useless blank window.

cg9com
11-17-2002, 04:45 AM
Originally posted by whammy
I don't know what you mean "that supports regular text". Can you explain?

basically something that would popup that i could cut and paste from, i tried
dialog: showModalDialog("totd.html",null,"");
and a popup window window.open("about:blank","","");
i even tried just a window alert that isnt exactly what i wanted, but i couldnt get that either.
the other idea that works is title="" attibute from a hyperlink or something, but thats not what i really need :)

i could fit a textarea or something on the page, but the whole idea of the popup is that the area to click and open the popup is hidden.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum